Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Clutch: Blast Tyrant (reissue)

Clutch has very quietly been one of the most consistent heavy rock bands for quite some time. Blast Tyrant is their classic 2004 release, now getting a deluxe reissue with a kick ass package that includes a bonus CD titled 'Basket of Eggs', which includes some vintage demo tracks as well as some newly recorded acoustic tunes. If you didn't get in gear and enjoy this wild riff fest the first time around, now's the time to make it happen.

Blast Tyrant is like the result of en experiment gone awry between Black Sabbath, Lynyrd Skynyrd,Deep Purple, and Black Label Society. Thick, beer drenched guitar riffs, hard rockin' yet funky rhythms, and the gravelly, whiskey soaked vocals of the unmistakable Neil Fallon. The riffs here are so addicting, always crunchy & beefy, often with a hint of wah-wah, making tunes like "Profits of Doom", "Cypress Grove", "The Mob Goes Wild", "Army of Bono", "Spleen Merchant", and "WYSIWYG", pulse, pound, and groove with a hard rocking Southern boogie. You'll want to headbang just as much as jump up and get your groove on.

The goodies over on CD2 are just as much fun. New, acoustic blues flavored pieces such as "Box Car Shorty's Confession", "The Regulator", and "Tight Like That" sound like leftovers from the most recent Skynyrd album, and demos of molten numbers "Cattle Car", "Walpole Man", "Promoter", and "La Curandera" bring to mind vintage Mountain as well as Lynyrd Skynyrd. Heavy stuff.

Honestly, this is amazing stuff here. Blast Tyrant is easily one of the most addicting hard rock albums of the last decade, just as enjoyable today as it was in 2004.

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. Mercury
2. Profits of Doom
3. The Mob Goes Wild
4. Cypress Grove
5. Promoter (of Earthbound Causes)
6. The Regulator
7. Worm Drink
8. Army of Bono
9. Spleen Merchant
10. The Swollen Goat (In the Wake of the)
11. Weathermaker
12. Subtle Hustle
13. Ghost
14. La Curandera (Notes from the Trial of)

Disc: 2
1. Box Car Shorty's Confession
2. The Regulator (acoustic)
3. Basket of Eggs (acoustic)
4. Tight Like That (acoustic)
5. Drink to the Dead (acoustic)
6. Cattle Car
7. Walpole Man
8. Promoter
9. La Curandera
10. Steve Doocy

Added: May 3rd 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3024
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by