Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Blut Aus Nord: 777 - Sect(s)

For a band as established and well-known as Blut Aus Nord, it may come a bit surprising to some that they're still consistently releasing new material and expanding upon their unique black metal sound with each succeeding effort. 777 - Sect(s) is their eighth full-length studio album, and their first in an upcoming three-part series. Though there is currently little information about the following two albums, the current due dates are in September and November of 2011. 777 - Sect(s) is a promising beginning to the trilogy, and sets high expectations for the future works of Blut Aus Nord. Though I wouldn't venture to say that this is a perfect album, it's a chilling work of art that may be the band's finest output as of yet.

Blut Aus Nord is known for playing twisted and cacophonous experimental black metal, so in that regard not much has changed since 2001's The Mystical Beast of Rebellion. There are still plenty of dissonant riffs and atonal countermelodies that play a major part in the music here. A few more melodic influences have snuck in here, though - there are a few emotional leads that set up some excellent contrast to the chaotic majority of the album. A few atmospheric keyboard sections and industrial influences are also scattered throughout 777 - Sect(s). The production took a little bit of time for me to warm up to - the drums sound a bit "triggered" and the guitar often dominates the mix, but I've grown to enjoy the sound more after repeated spins.

777 - Sect(s) isn't a breathtaking masterpiece in my opinion, but it's an adventurous and (more often than not) extremely successful effort. I'm looking forward for what Blut Aus Nord has in the works next; I can see the rest of this trilogy really exceeding my expectations. If you like your black metal with atonality and dissonance, but still enjoy a nice melody every now and again, this is one to surely check out. 3.5 stars are well deserved.

Track Listing:
1. Epitome I (7:57)
2. Epitome II (6:51)
3. Epitome III (4:52)
4. Epitome IV (11:52)
5. Epitome V (6:23)
6. Epitome VI (7:31)
Total Time 45:26

Added: May 3rd 2011
Reviewer: Jeff B
Related Link: Blut Aus Nord Website
Hits: 3074
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by