Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Prospekt: Prospekt (EP)

The U.K. has had a pretty impressive prog metal scene lately - with budding young acts like Haken, TesseracT, Fen, and Xerath, as well as seasoned veterans like Threshold and Anathema, the British metal scene is arguably at its highest peak since the New Wave of British Heavy Metal in the early eighties. Oxford-based group Prospekt is a welcome addition to this legion of prog metal acts, seeing that their self-titled debut EP is a truly impressive effort! And, like so many bands seeking exposure in the internet day and age, Prospekt has generously released it for free from their bandcamp page. Fans of prog metal better take notice to this excellent young band from England!

If you take a look at Prospekt's bandcamp page, they say their music is "in the vein (hopefully!) of bands such as Symphony X, Dream Theater and Circus Maximus". If that was their goal, you could say that Prospekt has missed the mark a bit - their debut EP sounds very little like any of the above-mentioned acts. I hear a bit of Dream Theater in their sound, but for the most part Prospekt is a very original and adventurous act. This may be detrimental to some, but I'm quite happy to hear a new prog metal band that doesn't rely on cloning the genre's golden age. Prospekt sounds like a mix of TesseracT (those djenty riffs are just irresistible!), Dream Theater, and Rush to these ears. Speaking of TesseracT, the band's own Acle Kahney produced Prospekt. The production is crisp, sharp, and powerful - just like the music itself!

I've heard a lot of great free releases so far this year, but Prospekt is surely towards the top of that list. This young act is technically advanced, compositionally skillful, and innovative in approach - not much more I can ask for from a prog metal band! I simply can't wait to hear what these guys have cooking up for their full-length debut (due out in late 2011). 4 stars are deserved for this promising and highly impressive EP.

Track Listing:
1. Dissident Priests 06:54
2. Eternal Memories 01:12
3. Shroud 07:45
4. Shutter Asylum 04:30

Added: May 2nd 2011
Reviewer: Jeff B
Related Link: Prospekt Bandcamp
Hits: 2014
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by