Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe: Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe (Deluxe 2 CD edition)

It was a nice surprise getting this one in the mail as it has been many years since I last pulled it from the shelf. For those of you do not know or simply forgot, the band could not use the Yes name because Squire owned it and he was not a part of this project. Tony Levin fills in for Squire and does a good job as to be expected although his playing is pretty understated and farther back in the mix than Squire's would ever be.

To be honest I forgot how much I enjoyed this album and listening to it brought all those memories flooding back. I always had a soft spot in my heart for this one, maybe because this was the only line-up of Yes that I have ever seen live.

This album certainly has that Yes sound mostly due to the fantastic vocals of Anderson. He sounds great all over these CDs (this version includes a bonus disc). Wakeman is also a dominant force here. His keyboards and synths have a more '8os sound which stands to reason as the album was originally released in 1989. Of course, I can't forget about Howe. Although is playing is quite restrained, there are many beautiful acoustic moments to be found and he does let loose occasionally like on the rocking "Order Of The Universe", a feel good, up-tempo tune with a heavier section featuring fiery work from Howe and Bruford. Other highlights include the poignant "Brother Of Mine" featuring Anderson's patented soaring timbre and the super catchy "Quartet" where Howe's acoustic guitar is quite sublime. Remember, the album as a whole is a relaxing listen; you will find no "Gates Of Delirium" here which is completely understandable given the decade this was made. The bottom line is the band sounds tight and progressive and made many Yes fans happy with this album.

The bonus disc is a nice addition and includes various edits and live tracks. The opening intro by Rick Wakeman sheds light on how the project began and will be of interest to Yes fans. I had not heard the song "Vultures In The City" before and it is a good one with excellent vocals and a beginning darker vibe that I really liked. The last three tracks are live recordings of which "And You And I" is the biggest highlight. All of the original poignancy shines through in this version and Howe's playing is a goose bump moment to be sure.

I think Yes fans will very much enjoy this release. The bonus disc may not be absolutely essential but rounds out the package well and the live tracks, especially "And You And I" are excellent. If your original copy is wearing out this is the perfect replacement. Released on Gonzo Multimedia.

*This album is only available from the Gonzo Multimedia website*

Track Listing:
Disc One
1. Themes (5:58)
2. Fist Of Fire (3:27)
3. Brother Of Mine (10:18)
4. Birthright (6:02)
5. The Meeting (4:21)
6. Quartet (9:22)
7. Teakbois (7:39)
8. Order Of The Universe (9:02)
9. Let's Pretend (2:56)
Bonus Disc
1. Rick Wakeman Intro's (2:48)
2. Brother Of Mine (Edit) (6:30)
3. Brother Of Mine (Radio Edit) (3:22)
4. Vultures In The City (5:50)
5. Order Of The Universe (Edit) (4:51)
6. Order Of The Universe (Long Edit ) (6:00)
7. Quartet (I'm Alive) (Single Edit) (3:15)
8. Brother Of Mine (Live) (10:49)
9. And You And I (Live) (10:31)
10. Order Of The Universe (Live) (9:38)

Added: May 1st 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label Official Site
Hits: 2842
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by