Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Agoraphobic Nosebleed / Despise You: And On and On... (Split)

Grindcore isn't typically a genre that impresses me very much, but every once in a while a top-notch release proves that the genre does have plenty to offer. And On and On... is one of those releases for sure! This is a violent, balls-to-the-wall, and absolutely irresistible album from two of the best acts in grindcore. Kudos to Relapse Records for bringing this split between Agoraphobic Nosebleed and Despise You to my attention!

I must confess that prior to hearing And On and On... I hadn't actually checked out either of these bands. I had intentions of getting some Agoraphobic Nosebleed stuff eventually, and I'd never even heard of Despise You. So you could say that this split opened my eyes to two really excellent U.S. grindcore acts. This 25-song album consists of 18 tracks from Despise You and 7 tracks from Agoraphobic Nosebleed.

Although it may seem that Despise You has the bulk of the playing time here (judging by the track divisions), only one of their songs here exceeds the 2 minute mark. Despise You relies heavily on fast, aggressive bursts of energy, and does it very well! They play a mix of hardcore and grindcore - the vocals are mainly punk-styled and very raw. There are also a lot of high-pitched, child-sounding vocals that add a bit of a humorous edge to their side of the split.

Agoraphobic Nosebleed plays (at least on this split) a sophisticated grindcore style with heavy sludge influences. Their songs are generally a bit longer and more drawn-out than Despise You, but they're equally powerful. I just love the vocal delivery here, and the use of guitar solos adds plenty of nice variation and complexity.

And On and On... is a great split album from Agoraphobic Nosebleed and Despise You that all fans (or even casual fans) of grindcore should investigate further. This album has some extremely heavy grindcore blasts, yet enough variation to keep any monotonous feelings away. Both bands perform excellently and compliment each other wonderfully - this won't be the last album I hear from either of these bands! 3.5 stars are well-deserved for this great split release.

Track Listing:
1. Bereft
2. Repeat Until You Fail
3. Roll Call
4. 3/26/2000
5. Three Day Hold
6. Yes Officer/No Officer
7. Fear's Song
8. Two Or Ten Faces?
9. Shit Goes In, Shit Comes Out
10. You Can't Fix Me, Don't Trip
11. Painted Gray
12. All The Regimes You Hold Most Dear
13. Destinial
14. Bankrupt Social Code
15. Seven Funerals
16. They All Died Is What Happened
17. …And Expirations
18. Cedar Ave. (Was The Best Place To Watch People ...
19. Half Dead
20. As Bad As It Is…
21. Miscommunication
22. Los Infernos
23. Ungrateful
24. Possession
25. Burlap Sack

Added: May 1st 2011
Reviewer: Jeff B
Related Link: Relapse Records
Hits: 2015
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by