Sea Of Tranquility



The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads





Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace

It's not very often that we feature singles in the review section of SoT, in fact as a rule we don't. However in the case of LovePower And Peace from Robin George's LovePower we have made an exception.

Why?

Well for a variety of reasons, but first and foremost because this excellent song sees every penny of the 69p that it costs to download go directly to the extremely worthy Macmillan Cancer Support charity. In fact not only Robin, but all of the well respected musicians who participated on this song, as well as the studios it was recorded in, the design team who created the striking cover and well basically everyone involved donated their time for free in the hope of raising the maximum amount possible for Macmillan.

The other reasons to feature this release are simple. The musicians involved are remarkably talented and the song is excellent. Vocally three fantastically respected soul singers, Ruby Turner, Jaki Graham and Jacqui Williams (Sister Sledge) share lead duties, while the LovePower band comprises of guitarist Pete Haycock (The Climax Blues Band), drummer Charlie Morgan (Elton John Band), saxophonist Mel Collins (King Crimson), bassist Charley Charlesworth (Dangerous Music) and obviously Robin George (Phil Lynott) on guitar. Add to that, Ken Hensley (Uriah Heep) on Hammond Organ and backing vocals from Vix (Fuzzbox), Freya Copeland (an actress from UK soap opera Emmerdale), Geri Minelli and The Women in Music International Choir, as well as 200 school children from choirs all over England and you not only have musicians with a ridiculously high pedigree, but also a startlingly diverse group of people who have combined to wonderful effect on LovePower And Peace.

The song itself is a great mix of rock, good old fashioned R&B and soul that creates a wonderfully uplifting vibe that is truly in the spirit of the whole project and even though not all of those genres listed are one's I would usually call favourites, the standard of the performances and especially the vocal performances keeps me coming back for more. Initially Robin's idea was to just to release this single as a standalone charity project, but with a long, long, long list of musicians (over 60 in all!) wishing to take part, the project has evolved into a 17 track album that will be released in the near future and features people who have played with The Rolling Stones, UFO, Hanoi Rocks, Asia and Motorhead among many others.

As I said at the start of this review, "LovePower And Peace" only costs 69p (that's not even $1.20) and is for a fantastically worthy cause. So what are you waiting for? As Robin himself says "We need your help to help us to help others", follow the link at the bottom of the review to pick up a great song, donate to a great cause and get some Love Power And Peace!

More information can also be found at www.robingeorge.co.uk .


Track Listing
1. LovePower And Peace

Added: April 28th 2011
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Score:
Related Link: LovePower And Peace
Hits: 2511
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]

  

[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]



» Reader Comments:

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by fiona bond on 2011-10-23 04:38:53
My Score:

At last I got the LovePower and Peace album.it's truly a work of importance for the causes who are benefiting from all the hard work from so many great musicians. I love it!!
I followed a link from Robingeorge.co.uk and ordered it no prob.
Cheers
Fiona

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by bert web on 2011-09-15 03:40:58
My Score:

Just got the single...spot on review, it's a great track, and it sounds like the album is fab too!

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by alexis tate on 2011-05-01 04:36:19
My Score:

A great song and a really worthwhile cause. well done to robin george and all those great musicians for doing this

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by andy seymour on 2011-04-30 03:37:24
My Score:

Thanks fir bringing this to my attention SOT. I wouldn't normally know about something like lovepower and peace but i bought the single and it's great and helps charity too. Well spent 69p.

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Marlon Berkeley on 2011-04-29 15:21:51
My Score:

A truly worthwhile project. Really enjoyed the review and downloaded Lovepower and peace. 69pwell spent.

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Lilly Witley on 2011-04-29 11:18:27
My Score:

I love this song. What a great way of donating charity and hearing a superb new song at the same time. a refreshing change from the usual singles you hear.

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Jon Faberley on 2011-04-29 08:03:13
My Score:

I have to agree, this is a rare gem!

Well done to all involved, it's cool music and a great reason behind it.

Thanks for bringing it to my (and many others already) attention Steven and SoT.

69p well spent indeed!

Regards

Jon

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Roger Gallatley on 2011-04-29 07:06:48
My Score:

Wonderful stuff. New intellectual indeed. LovePower rocks! I've seen an album review and it sounds like it's fantastic. When's it released does anyone know?

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by heather simon on 2011-04-29 04:48:25
My Score:

Great song, great cause, great musos. Love it! And I love the word LovePower! What a concept!

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Jeanettte Butler on 2011-04-29 03:58:40
My Score:

Great tune, upbeat with a message.. supurb guitar playing!!

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by roy cooke on 2011-04-29 03:25:29
My Score:

Steven, thanks for the great review and the support, Lovepower and Peace is a great song, i love Jaki Grahams Vox and the kids choirs at the end are pretty moving.

My dad is also being looked after by Macmillans and they do such a great job helping people with this terrible disease, so without hesitation i would recommend you buy it, after all 69p is not much to us to to Macmillans its all adds up and it will really help.

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by vivienne lennard on 2011-04-29 02:20:49
My Score:

Macmillan are helping my parents so a great cause but alsoa wonderful song which had me near tears. Its so beautiful and meaningful too.

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Nora Davies on 2011-04-29 02:02:51
My Score:

When I read the review I didn't believe that a 'mix of rock, good old fashioned R&B and soul' could possibly work! I do now. A new genre for a great cause...WOW!

Thanks for letting us know SOT.

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Jake Webb on 2011-04-29 01:52:48
My Score:

I've never heard anything quite like this before! Not the usual charity manufactured offering. I got it to 'do my bit' and am loving it...a great song with superb performances from all involved.

Robin George's LovePower: LovePower And Peace
Posted by Fiona Bond on 2011-04-29 01:24:30
My Score:

After reading Steven Reid's great review I downloaded the song
and he knows his stuff! A fab song, really emotional vocals and superb musicians all for a truly worthy cause.

I can't wait for the album!

Thanks

Fiona





2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by SpeedSoft.com