Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Buzz Bros Band: ppff unk

Hailing from The Netherlands, the Buzz Bros Band are not what you would call your typical Dutch band, in fact are far from it. They play a brand of funk laden jazz that will really get your body moving.

The band formed in 2001 by the Busstra brothers Marnix (guitar, electric sitar, bouzouki) and Berthil (Fender Rhodes, keyboards). Joining them are Frans Van Geest (double bass) and Chris Strik (drums). The band released their debut Castle In The Air in 2004 and have followed it up with their latest album ppff unk, released last year.

This is an all instrumental affair save for a couple of tracks. The musicianship is very good throughout ppff unk, especially the keyboards and guitar, although there are some fine bass and drum moments as well. The album starts with "Handwritten Notes", all fuzzy guitar chords and jazzy clean solos. In the title track, the Fender Rhodes creates a nice melody to go along with the funky bass grooves.

A few of my favourites include "I Will" with its excellent female vocals carrying a '60s vibe and the somewhat moody "Going Down, Going Down…" featuring darker guitar rhythms, crisp lead guitar and a backdrop of keys helping to flesh out the sound. That said, the album's best track is the surprising "Dancing Whales" where sweeping acoustic guitar and spacey keyboards give this track a different sound from the rest of the album. It has a calming effect with the keyboard textures bearing an uncanny resemblance to whale sounds.

The album's last track "Minor Details" is a return to funky rock riffs and swells of background keys.

Buzz Bros Band have released a very good album with ppff unk and is one that caught me totally by surprise earning a very deserving three and a half stars.

Track Listing:
1. Handwritten Notes (4:42)
2. Ppff Unk (4:21)
3. And Then You Dive (4:57)
4. Little Boy On The Hill (5:31)
5. I Will (3:59)
6. Going Down, Going Down… (4:40)
7. On The Couch (6:11)
8. Dancing Whales (4:43)
9. One More Liquor (6:20)
10. White Valley (4:54)
11. Wanderers (4:44)
12. Goose Step (4:19)
13. Minor Details (3:23)

Added: April 26th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1538
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by