Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shadowman: Watching Over You

Seven years and four albums later the quartet that is Shadowman consisting of Steve Overland, Steve Morris, Chris Childs and Harry James has scored again. Their album Watching Over You sees the band maturing, producing another memorable British melodic rock album, (a genre that should be massive), which you should be adding to your collection. The album has been mixed by Tommy Hansen who again has performed an excellent job.

This is an album that is full of the soul, having the best of British melodic hard rock music stamped through it, calling to mind Heartland, FM and elements of Thunder which goes without saying really with the gentlemen involved. You can't be but impressed at these guys' credentials; between them they have some pedigree.

Childs and James provide some rather excellent rhythm sections and a tight backline, a foundation that is as solid as a rock, whilst Morris' signature guitar sound works perfectly bringing out the best in Steve Overland's vocals. The album is swathed with vocal and musical harmony's, being a perfect soundtrack for a long hazy summer, twelve memorable songs that are just hook filled, that will be ringing around your head in no time.

The powerful opener "Across The Universe" sets the stalls out and is the bench mark for the album; the rest of the songs don't disappoint either. The balladic "Cry" sees the aforementioned guitar work of Morris working well, where he really breathes emotion into the piece, having a really nice blues feel running through it ,as does the slightly rockier "Stop Breaking This Heart Of Mine", both being a perfectly designed platform for the band. Morris is more than happy to supply some nice keyboard work too on "Waiting For A Miracle" which shouldn't go unmentioned. Where "Watching Over You" ups the pace, "Suzanne" ups the ante, riding high on the bands ability to be able to write quality memorable songs. "Whatever It Takes" comes from the heady days of when AOR roamed the streets proudly and the fitting album closer "Party Is Over" does exactly what it says, sadly bringing the whole album to a close.

This is definitely a strong melodic release that will be up there at the end of the year with the best of the contenders, make no mistake about that. It is definitely worth looking out for and adding to your collection.

Track Listing
1 Across The Universe
2 Renegades
3 Cry
4 Watching Over You
5 Are You Ready
6 Suzanne
7 Waiting For A Miracle
8 Stop Breaking This Heart Of Mine
9 Heaven Waits
10 Whatever It Takes
11 Justify
12 Party Is Over

Added: April 19th 2011
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 1901
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by