Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Niktex: The Power Of Yang

Niktex is the duo of Nikole Texidor and Manjinder Benning. Originally from Montreal, Texidor is the daughter of jazz percussionist Josehh Texidor who played with Rahsaan Roland Kirk. Benning is a multi-instrumentalist with a background in electronic music production so it is not surprising he brings a heavy electronic vibe to the recording.

The press release bills The Power Of Yang as an "orchestral neo-folk jazz album". I suppose there is a slight jazzy feel, however, the folk and orchestral moniker is more apt with a heavy dose of pop as well. The music is quite dreamy with plenty of electronics enhancing the atmosphere and mood. If I had one complaint it's that the songs are a bit samey and I am not sure how much staying power this album will ultimately have. Having said that the songs are good with some nice melodic moments and tasty acoustic guitar throughout the album's ten tracks. It is a mellow listen with the album staying in a slow to mid tempo range.

"Pantyhose" opens the CD with acoustic guitar and lush vocals. The acoustic instruments gives this one a folky vibe, like many of the album's songs, and the subtle use of synths and electronics adds another dimension to the sound. Tabla can also be heard giving the song an exotic feel.

The folksiness continues with "Irrationalities" but with a more poppy twist. The overdubbed vocals are very nice and the sound is a little more rootsy with another good melody and an overall dreamy quality. As with many of these songs the music is very layered and textured with the electronic and acoustic elements melding together quite nicely.

The album never strays too far from what I have described which may be good or bad depending on your tastes. If electronic enhanced folk music with a dash of quirkiness and a large helping of pop is your thing, The Power Of Yang may suit your fancy.

Track Listing:
1. Pantyhose (3:24)
2. Irrationalities (4:52)
3. This Too Will Pass (4:18)
4. Un Hiver Sous Les Draps (4:03)
5. Definitely Lazy (5:49)
6. Red Car (4:23)
7. Colours Blurred (2:14)
8. Manfather (4:54)
9. You Started Shit (4:49)
10. Traffic In The Rain (5:52)

Added: April 18th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1108
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by