Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Drover, Glen: Metalusion

Metalusion is the perfect name for this first solo album from former Megadeth & Eidolon shredder Glen Drover. Part 'metal' and part 'jazz-fusion', Metalusion just oozes class from start to finish, with plenty of elements of both genres not to mention some sensational guitar playing from Drover and a list of guest stars.

Opener "Ground Zero" is like a marriage of Al DiMeola and Dream Theater, with Drover tearing it up with some metallic jazz alongside former Megadeth and current OHM virtuoso Chris Poland and UFO axe master Vinnie Moore. The highly melodic "Frozen Dream" sees Drover trading licks with Forbidden guitarist Steve Smyth, and the Al DiMeola classic "Egyptian Danza" is given a rousing treatment from Glen. One of the highlights of the CD.

Original piece "Colors of Infinity" is a gorgeous number, kicking off with some crystalline guitar tones & Mellotron before settling into a sumptuous pace featuring some tasty lead lines that would please any Joe Satriani fan. "Illusions of Starlight" is another original song, and again melody is the key, though look for some blazing solos from Drover within that melodic framework. The Jean-Luc Ponty cut "Don't Let the World Pass You By" sees Drover sharing the spotlight with Opeth guitarist Fredrik Akesson, as the two use their instruments to take over Ponty's original violin lines. Fabulous stuff. Another Ponty classic, "Mirage", features guest Jeff Loomis from Nevermore, so expect plenty of sizzling fireworks on this dreamy fusion staple. After the beautiful Drover original "Ascension" (where he really shines with some searing, emotional solos), the guitarist covers two Frank Zappa pieces, "The Purple Lagoon" and "Filthy Habits". Adding more metal muscle to these classics really makes for compelling listening, as the added crunch mixed with the complex arrangements is truly jaw dropping.

Now that he's on his own and shown what he can do with Metalusion, Glen Drover can finally walk away from all the questions relating to his mysterious departure from Megadeth and forge his own path in the world of instrumental metal & jazz-fusion music. Highly recommended!

Track Listing
1. Ground Zero (Special Guests - Chris Poland and Vinnie Moore)
2. Frozen Dream (Special Guest - Steve Smyth)
3. Egyptian Danza [Al DiMeola Cover]
4. Colors Of Infinity
5. Illusions Of Starlight
6. Don't Let The World Pass You By [Jean-Luc Ponty Cover] - Special Guest - Fredrik Akesson
7. Mirage [Jean-Luc Ponty Cover] - Special Guest - Jeff Loomis
8. Ascension
9. The Purple Lagoon [Frank Zappa Cover]
10. Filthy Habits [Frank Zappa Cover]

Added: April 3rd 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Glen Drover @ Magna Carta Records
Hits: 3166
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by