Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

HILLS: Master Sleeps

Gothenburg trio have recorded an album that is a freak out, psychedelic space rock extravaganza, which calls to mind musical influences that are embedded in the Krautrock scene, to some degree The Velvet Underground, Ozric Tentacles and definitely Hawkwind.

Intelligently the band have built a solid foundation with each track, having its own unique repetitive structure that does sensibly vary from track to track, never repeating a theme, which keeps the whole recording sounding punchy, dynamic, unique and fresh.

There are masses of phased guitar works as contributed by Pelle and Kalle, who both work well as a unit; Kalle's bass contributions are also punchy and solid in their approach as is Hanna's dynamic drum approach. If fact each member is allowed to breathe, which offers a healthy vibrancy, which allows the band to be really cohesive and comfortable with each other, this being highlighted by the whole tone and laid back feel that has been generated, each contributing and layering their passages. The band has managed to incorporate some very atmospheric and impressive organ work throughout the album, giving the music more texture and dimension, as well as retro feel. The vocals that have been included here are minimal and come across as being incidental to the whole affair.

The fitting album opener "Rise Again" sets the stalls out for the pace of the whole album, a path that is pretty much well travelled to its completion. "Clara's Vaggvisa", which does slow the whole thing right down, is for me the most unique and by far the best track, creating stunning atmospherics with those spoken about organ statements and the haunting and somewhat chilling child voices layered through it. Put the head phones on for maximum effect.

The band hasn't created anything new here, but they managed to keep the well worn path of this genre sounding fresh and exciting. Lesser bands had tried to succeed and failed something that Hills has avoided. Make no mistake; the music created here has been done so with a lot of love, with the emphasis being all about the groove. Play Loud and Enjoy!

Track Listing
1. Rise Again
2. Bring Me Sand
3. Claras Vaggvisa
4. The Vessel
5. Master Sleeps
6. Death Shall Come

Added: March 27th 2011
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 2224
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by