Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Savoldelli, Boris: Biocosmopolitan

Boris Savoldelli is an Italian singer who uses his remarkable voice like no one I have heard before. He is a member of the avant-garde jazz rock band SADO of which I have not heard. He released Insanology in 2008, followed by his Moonjune Records debut Proptoplasmic in 2009. His new album Biocosmopolitan is all about his unique vocal talent.

The music on Biocosmopolitan is best described as vocal jazz as there are few traditional instruments. His multi-layered and overdubbed vocals are the star of the show and his use of strange vocalizations makes this music even more appealing. Upon first discovering the lack of instruments I was a little concerned but I should not have been as this is an enjoyable record from the first song to the last. Part of the album's charm is the sentimentality spread throughout the album's sixteen songs. Whether his vocals are inspired by Africa, as in the Ladysmith Black Mambazo influenced "Aria" or '50s style doo wop, "The Discordia" comes to mind, this is an adventurous album. The fact there is only one person behind the microphone is all the more remarkable because it sure doesn't sound like it. Savoldelli does have a little help from his friends as well. In "Concrete Clima", the urban street jazz feel is accentuated by Paolo Fresu's flugelhorn and in the funky title track, Jimmy Haslip shows his virtuosity on bass guitar as his fingers literally fly across the frets.

With the piano led English and Italian versions of the more experimental "Biocosmo", Savoldelli adopts a moodier, melancholic balladic approach while his disassembled rendition of the Hendrix classic "Crosstown Traffic" makes for a truly unique listening experience.

Savoldelli has taken a cappella jazz music to the next level and while this may not necessarily be for prog heads, if you are a fan of that style do yourself a favour and seek out Biocosmopolitan. You will be rightly impressed.

Track listing:
1. Aria (2:09)
2. Biocosmopolitan (3:36)
3. Concrete Clima (4:26)
4. The Discordia (3:42)
5. Kerouac In New York City (3:13)
6. Is Difficult To Fly Without Whiskey (3:26)
7. Dandy Dog (2:01)
8. Danny Is A Man Now (1:42)
9. Biocosmo (3:39)
10. Lovecity (2:47)
11. Springstorm (3:21)
12. The Miss Kiss (2:57)
13. My Barry Lindon (1:28)
14. Closin' Theme (2:32)
Bonus Tracks
15. Crosstown Traffic (4:03)
16. Biocosmo (English version) (4:14)

Added: March 25th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2595
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by