Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Disbelief: 66Sick (remastered)

Metal Mind Productions has re-released the 6th album from German Death/Thrash Metal band, Disbelief, entitled 66Sick. A self dubbed play on words of the Metal genres over use of the 666 devil posing and also that this was also the 6th release from the band. This already makes me cringe! Originally released in 2005, 66Sick was produced by veteran Metal producer, Tue Madsen, and is now presented in a Digipak, Gold disc limited edition to only 2000 copies.

Heralded as German Metal innovators, Disbelief combines the Cookie Monster vocals of Death Metal with the verve of Thrash and the sense of Industrial, but where the innovation is, I couldn't tell you. Vocals are no different than the generic hack and bash that we've all heard before but sometimes mixed with a melodic chant that does give the music a different flavor. Songs like "Crawl", "Rewind it All (Death or Glory)" and "Try" show some glimpses of songwriting and musical chops, with some cool Prog Metal type riffing. Somewhere in between bands like Bolt Thrower or Misery Loves Co., would you find a band like Disbelief, a Death Metal band with an Industrial feel to them.

This re-release also includes 6 bonus tracks that include cover versions of Iron Maiden's "Stranger In A Strange Land", Slayer's "Spill The Blood", Accept's "Dogs on Leads" and the very odd choice of Scorpion's classic instrumental, "Coast to Coast", complete with NO LEAD GUITAR! Why would a band pick a cover tune with classic lead guitar work from Michael Schenker and then not include ANY of it? Odd. All in all this record is decent. Once Disbelief actually begin to get away from the Death Metal side of things they actually do begin to show some promise more on the Industrial Metal side of things, once coupled with some melody and brooding. I didn't dig this record very much initially but it is a grower. The melodic nuances that are developed over the entire record do creep into you if you let them and can become pretty haunting, even reminding me at times of the feel of the great Katatonia. Not a terrible record at all, but not a great one either. You decide.

Track Listing

  1. 66
  2. Sick
  3. Floating On High
  4. For God?
  5. Continue (From The Point)
  6. Crawl
  7. Rewind It All (Death or Glory)
  8. Lost in Time
  9. Try
  10. Edges
  11. Mental Signpost
  12. To Atone For all
  13. Coast To Coast
  14. Dogs On Leads
  15. Spill The Blood
  16. Stranger In A Strange Land
  17. Genocide Amen
  18. Choice

Added: March 19th 2011
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1948
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by