Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Augury: Concealed (reissue)

Let's be quite frank here-in this day and age, you'd be hard pressed to find a more unique sounding extreme metal band than Canada's Augury. In 2009, Nuclear Blast released their sophomore CD Fragmentary Evidence, a stunning collection of technical death metal, black metal, power metal, viking metal, and progressive metal. Now, their 2004 debut Concealed is being re-released by Sonic Unyon Metal so the entire metal universe can check out the impressive beginnings of this fascinating band.

It's amazing just how many styles this band throws into their sonic attack. Just listen to the relentless barrage of crushing, uber-technical riffs, death metal growls, black metal shrieks, and fist pumping viking metal choruses on "Ever Know Peace Again", or the mix of monstrous death metal with Therion styled operatic & symphonic metal on "Beatus", complete with stunning female vocals. For out and out technicality, there's the blistering "Cosmic Migration", which is chock full of fusion styled bass & guitar lines, crushing riffs, insane drum fills, and dueling growls & operatic female vocals. Those into straight ahead death metal will love "Nocebo", a commanding number that even throws in a lovely little acoustic interlude in the middle section that reminds of Opeth. "In Russian Dolls Universes" is like a head on collision between viking/power metal and evil death metal, and the complex "The Lair Of Purity" is the CDs mini epic, featuring some great acoustic work in the intro before the song launches into wild progressive extreme metal, as the band throws every style at the listener, and it all works perfectly.

This reissue comes with two bonus tracks, both featured on the band's 2006 demo. "Skyless" is very Opeth influenced, and includes some great back-and-forth between the intricate electric and gorgeous acoustic segments, while "Faith Puppeteers" is an amazing technical death metal masterpiece. The entire CD has been remastered, and comes in a lovely digipack complete with stunning artwork and lyrics.

If you love adventurous, progressive extreme metal, you owe it to yourself to pick up a copy of Concealed. Breathtaking stuff folks.

Track Listing
1. Beatus 4:04
2. Ever Know Peace Again 3:35
3. Cosmic Migration 5:56
4. Nocebo 5:21
5. Alien Shores 4:13
6. In Russian Dolls Universes 4:41
7. Becoming God 4:00
8. The Lair Of Purity 7:27
9. From Eden Estranged 4:11
10. As Sea Devours Land 3:52
11. Skyless (Bonus Track) 6:35
12. Faith Puppeteers (Bonus Track) 4:03

Added: March 5th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2094
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by