Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Phil Yaan Zek with Marco Minnemann: Dance with the Anima

This album is described as "a mesmerizing "film score" style album of dazzling old-school fusion vibes, 60's cinematic themes, epic progressive rock melodies, gypsy jazz, dramatic classical moods and psychedelic guitar", featuring Marco Minnemann on drums, Lalle Larsson on keyboards, and Phi Yaan-Zek on all guitars, bass, additional (easy) keyboards, percussion, chants, voices and primal screams. There are also guest artists including; Ola Olsson on trumpets & flugelhorns, Gary Compton , on harmonica and additional primal screams, Amandine Ferrari on choral vocals, and The Elves of Richmond Park on additional vocals.

What you have here is a compilation of short songs for CD, which is another part of Marco Minnemann's Normalizer 2 series.

The keyboards from Lalle Larson, (Agents of Mercy), are a fantastic addition to this version of the Minnemann compilation CDs. Phi Yaan Zek's guitar work is amazing and completely different. Each of these mini instrumentals is unique and brings a new ambiance and sound to the whole production.

The stand out tracks for me are, "Adventures in Myth", the keyboard like vocal sounds on "Ecstasies Of The Starlight Self", the piano and bass work on "Lallejee's Animatronics", "Inamorata in Peril - Part One", which sounds like something straight out of NYC from a 1960s jazz/theater composition, the harmonica work on "Dirt Under The Fingernails", "Four Daughters of Phrygia", an epic at 5:39, for this short song disc set, the sitar like sounds on "Inner Constellations of Feeling", more cool harmonica and keys on "Mariana's Guide to the Deep", the grinding guitar and synth work on the title track, "Dance With the Anima", the horn and acoustic guitar on "Maid with Spanish Fly", more cool piano on "Inamorata in Peril - Part Two", and the sticks, guitar, and keyboard work on "Flirting With Intensity".

Great music for relaxing with a good book.

Track Listing:
  1. "Adventures in Myth"
  2. "Midnight Tryst"
  3. "Ecstasies of the Starlight Self"
  4. "Lallejee's Animatronics"
  5. "Inamorata in Peril - Part One"
  6. "Dirt under the Fingernails"
  7. "Twisted to the 7th Degree off Starboard"
  8. "Four Daughters of Phrygia"
  9. "Inner Constellations of Feeling"
  10. "Melodies of Me"
  11. "Mariana's Guide to the Deep"
  12. "Signposts"
  13. "Dance With the Anima"
  14. "The Tactile Ones"
  15. "Synchro-Gnostic Mirrorball Gyrations"
  16. "Melodies of Me Too"
  17. "Jade Fluid"
  18. "Maid with Spanish Fly"
  19. "Precipices"
  20. "Inamorata in Peril - Part Two"
  21. "Flirting With Intensity"
  22. "A Healing Of Shattered Hearts"

Added: March 5th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Artist Website
Hits: 2854
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by