Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ten: Stormwarning

Ten, one of Britain's most expressive rock bands has just released album number nine, an album called Stormwarning an album that brings back memories of the stunning The Name of The Rose and Spellbound. Gary has even procured the services of Luis Royo, the designer who created the artwork for the album covers of Spellbound and Babylon to complete the whole experience.

The album is another awesome release, it's melodic, passionate and stunning, which will have fans salivating. It may have been some time since their last release, but the wait has been well worth it. Mr. Hughes and company do not fail to deliver their high quality craftsmanship, each passage being expressive and emotional. There may have been some line up changes, which to be honest hasn't taken anything away from the quality that is expected from this band, in fact, if anything, it has enhanced and complemented the sound adding a somewhat freshness to the whole affair, which has been capped by the stunning production work of Dennis Ward.

The album is full of songs inspired by tales of glory, war, death and of course the mandatory staple of melodic rock bands love. Whether the band are pounding out the heavier bombastic rock of "Endless Symphony" or "Centre of My Universe", being reminiscent of Spellbound era TEN, the Celtic tinged "Destiny", the stunning "The Hourglass and the Landslide" or the sexily but challenging "Book of Secrets", the band do not disappoint. The beauty of the whole album is that it's not immediate, it's a grower and when I say grower I mean GROWER. It could be easy to write this album off, but those who stick around, will be richly rewarded with what TEN have created here, an album of memorable rock songs.

Here is a band that is moving in the same circles as the likes of classic Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake and Queen. If you are a fan you are going to love it. If you are not already a convert this is a very good starting point. This is an album that will have fans talking.

Track Listing
1 Endless Symphony
2 Centre of My Universe
3 Kingdom Come
4 Book of Secrets
5 Stormwarning
6 Invisible
7 Love Song
8 The Hourglass and the Landslide
9 Destiny
10 The Wave

Added: May 8th 2011
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 2595
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by