Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Slander: Careless Talk Costs Lives (reissue)

This is a reissue of a 1991 New Wave of British Heavy Metal lost gem and according to the record label should appeal to fans of; Raven, Demon, Angel Witch, Diamond Head, Cloven Hoof and Judas Priest. The eagle-eyed amongst you will of course note that out of that lot only Judas Priest actually had any commercial success. Those of you who are even more awake will note that the heyday of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal was a decade earlier so Slander stood little chance of joining the Priest in the land of success. Tinny production probably didn't help either son with that in mind the band have returned to the recording studio and re-recorded some of the original tunes along with some others and have actually come up with quite a nice little package which is limited to one thousand copies.

Careless Talk Costs Lives breaks no ground in terms of originality but is by no means unworthy. As with Raven, Demon etc., Slander lack songs which would "put them over" into popular consciousness. There's no "Run to the Hills", "Wheels of Steel" nor even an "Am I Evil".

That said, the 2011 album packs much more of a punch production-wise and some tasty guitar work make it a pleasurable listen without it being wholly essential. The re-make of "Fighting Talk" has in particular become a favourite and if you dig British metal you could do worse than grab one of the small amount available.

Track Listing:
CD #1 1991:
1. Fighting Talk
2. On the Run
3. Scheno
4. Colour of Your Money
5. Lonely Nights
6. No Road Back
7. In your World
8. Passion Crimes
9. Shadow in the Night
10. Built to Destroy
11. Lay Down the Law
12. Cry of the Wolf

CD #2 2011:
1. Fighting Talk
2. On the Run
3. Colour of Your Money
4. Lonely Nights
5. Hangman
6. In your World
7. Shadows
8. Land of Darkness
9. Shadow in the Night
10. This Time You Lose
11. Ends of the Circle
12. Cry of the Wolf

Added: March 1st 2011
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2616
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by