Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Scheepers: Scheepers

Ralf Scheepers records a solo album. Never saw that one coming. Scheepers is a damn fine album, not only is it heavy but it retains a melodic approach too which in turn covers all the bases that you expect with this vocalist.

Ralf Scheepers has a very powerful vocal range, for the uninitiated and I can't imagine there are too many out there that aren't familiar with his body of work, think Halford, Dio and early Gillan and you are somewhere in the ballpark. Interestingly the whole album is filled with songs that sound like could have appeared on any Primal Fear album. Not only that, Scheepers has pushed the boat out acquiring the services of Kai Hansen his former Gamma Ray employer, three members of Primal Fear and former guitarist Stefan Leibing, Victor Smolski (Rage), Sander Gommans (ex After Forever), Snowy Shaw (King Diamond, Therion) and even Tim "Ripper" Owens lends vocals to "Remission Of Sin". Which is quite an impressive roster leaving you with no illusions that this is an album of quality and class.

From the album opener "Locked in the Dungeon" Scheepers just tears the house down. "Remission Of Sin", "The Fall" and "Doomsday", are probably the most Primal Fear-esque tracks on the album, which to be honest, I really can't understand why they never did appear on any of their albums. Even his choice of a priest cover "Before the Dawn" from the Killing Machine album is not exactly what you would guess as a first choice selection, but just works so well, being pure quality. Such is the confidence of Scheepers display which just doesn't put a foot wrong, even when he takes a more generic metal approach with "Dynasty", he still displays his style and swagger. The ballad "The Pain of the Accused" is a real set stealer, with its awesome guitar runs and dynamic vocal display, showing another dimension to his vocal approach as does the stunning album closer "Compassion".

Ralf Scheepers has a recording career to be proud of. He now has a debut solo album to add to the list. You too also have an album that you need to add to your list.

Track Listing
1 Locked In The Dungeon
2 Remission Of Sin
3 Cyberfreak
4 The Fall
5 Doomsday
6 Saints Of The Rock
7 Before The Dawn
8 Back On Track
9 Dynasty
10 The Pain Of The Accused
11 Play With The Fire
12 Compassion

Added: May 12th 2011
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 2816
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by