Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Marbin: Breaking the Cycle

Breaking the Cycle is the second album from fusion outfit Marbin, and sees the band expand from the original duo of guitarist Dani Rabin and sax player Danny Markovitch to now include drummer Paul Wertico and bassist Steve Rodby. The songs on Breaking the Cycle vary from burning jaz-rock fusion to lighter, more melodic fare, all of it being highly entertaining and showing a band that is really firing on all cylinders.

The opener "Loopy" really starts things off with a bang, a ripping fusion piece featuring soaring sax lines from Markovitch, a molten guitar solo from Rabin, and Wertico's nimble stick work. "A Serious Man" and "Mom's Song" sees the quartet moving into more introspective and melodic waters, while "Bar Stomp" is a frazzled blues romp, with Rabin's distorted rumblings sounding very close to Terje Rypdal's classic work. Markovitch really shines on the gorgeous "Western Sky", and the guest vocals of Matt Davidson & Leslie Beukelman really add a nice touch to the poignant modern jazz styled piece "Outdoor Revolution".

"Burning Match" is a dark, smoldering number, which kicks off with some tempting sax lines before Rabin's yearning guitar cries a variety of moaning notes. The upbeat "Snufkin" has a more whimsical feel, thanks to some quirky sax melodies from Markovitch and plenty of intricate rhythms from Wertico & Rodby. Add in Rabin's textured acoustic guitar work and you have a wonderful little number. Near 9-minute closer "Winds of Grace" is a folky vocal tune with guest singer "Daniel White. It's a pretty majestic song, featuring a great sax solo from Markovitch, and will appeal to those into folk rock and prog.

There's a lot to like here on Breaking the Cycle. Marbin have come up with plenty of memorable melodies and tasty playing throughout the CD, and though I would have liked to hear more aggressive material like the opener "Loopy", there's really nothing wrong you can say about anything here. It's a classy recording from a group of very talented musicians. Chalk up another winner from MoonJune Records!

Track Listing
01 - Loopy
02 - A Serious Man
03 - Mom's Song
04 - Bar Stomp
05 - Outdoor Revolution
06 - Western Sky
07 - Burning Match
08 - Claire's Indigo
09 - Snufkin
10 - The Old Silhouette
11 - Winds Of Grace

Added: February 27th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 42623
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by