Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Knoblock, Landon/Jason Furman: Gasoline Rainbow

Jason Furman, who is currently the music director at the New York Military Academy is an accomplished jazz drummer and has played with Nell Carter, Joe Williams, the Four Tops and many others. Landon Knoblock is a New York based pianist/composer and is currently a member of Michael Blake's Quartet.

The tandem's new release Gasoline Rainbow takes improvised jazz to the next level making an album filled with twists and turns and startling musicianship. This is an ambitious effort and one is never quite sure where the music will veer next making this an absorbing yet difficult listen. This isn't music where the melodies jump out at you and you may have to do a little digging but the effort will be worth it. It has taken a while to fully sink in and while I prefer music with a little more melody there is no denying the talent of this duo.

From the beginning song "Sensors Make Heroes" it is clear this tandem knows each other well. The playing starts off quiet but builds in intensity as the song progresses. The edgy "Decoy Trout" with its sporadic piano touches relies on the song's unpredictable nature to build suspense. The moody "Snowball Earth" is a long piece that has a rather quiet, ambient-like beginning with sparse piano and subtle drums. Ethereal piano lines carry a somewhat dissonant and angular melody. The intriguing "Twinkle, Twinkle Alien Ocean" has a much darker tone, almost sinister sounding at times with harsh piano chords carrying an underlying intensity. The curiously titled "Katie's Solar Explosion and Cosmic Aftermath" is an exercise in pure chaos as the musicians flirt with uncontrolled abandon.

This is an interesting album to be sure and one that will appeal to jazz fans who appreciate exploratory music and song structures that teeter on the edge of bedlam . Just do not expect to 'get it' right away as this one may take some time.

Track Listing:
1. Sensors Make Heroes
2. Decoy Trout
3. Gasoline Rainbow
4. Snowball Earth
5. Twinkle, Twinkle Alien Ocean
6. Downbeasts I
7. Downbeasts II
8. Downbeasts III
9. Katie's Solar Explosion and Cosmic Aftermath
10. Love Goodnight
11. Tasty After Dinner Jazz Mint

Added: February 26th 2011
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1903
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by