Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fuzzy Duck: Fuzzy Duck

Though it might be one of the most absurd band names in the history of rock, Fuzzy Duck's self-titled debut from 1971 is an impressive slice of hard rocking progressive rock. Comprised of Paul Francis on drums, bassist Mick Hawksworth, Roy Sharland on organ, and Graham White on lead vocals & guitar, Fuzzy Duck played in a style similar to Deep Purple, Uriah Heep, Atomic Rooster, Iron Butterfly, Cressida, Grand Funk Railroad, Beggar's Opera, and Tucky Buzzard. Lots of Hammond organ and guitar interplay to be found here, which is a good thing for those into that vintage early 70's sound. In fact, Francis was a former member of Tucky Buzzard, Hawksworth played with Atomic Rooster guitarist John DuCann in Andromeda, and Sharland spent some time with The Crazy World of Arthur Brown, so the guys in the band were far from unknowns. White left the band shortly after the debut was released, so live work was completed by Garth Watt-Roy.

Repertoire Records has put together a nice little reissue here, including the complete original album and a few bonus tracks with Watt-Roy on guitar. Many of the songs have that hard rocking guitar/organ style, including some blistering solos and strong lead vocals. Highlights include "Just Look Around You", "Afternoon Out", "Time Will Be Your Doctor", "Mrs. Prouts", and the driving rocker "More Than I Am". The tune "In Our Time" even has a strong Wishbone Ash feel to it, complete with some super guitar lines from White. The reissue is housed in a slim mini-LP styled package, complete with a booklet featuring an informative essay on the band. If you like this brand of early 70's heavy rock with some prog elements, you can't go wrong with this one and only release from Fuzzy Duck, though the 'duck' vocals on "A Word From Big D" is rather silly and should have been left off.

Track Listing
1. Time wil be your doctor (5:11)
2. Mrs Prouts (6:48)
3. Just look around you (4:24)
4. Afternoon out (4:59)
5. More than I am (5:33)
6. Country boy (6:04)
7. In our time (6:41)
8. A word from big D (1:41)
Bonus tracks on Repertoire:
9. Double time woman (3:00)
10. Big brass band (2:58)
11. One more hour (3:59)
12. No name face (3:03)

Added: February 23rd 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Repertoire Records
Hits: 2293
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by