Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Buzz*oven: Sore

Metal Mind Productions is at it again. Once more they have brought us one of the obscure bands of a by-gone era and put together a package in a limited edition to tantalize the fans and those looking to complete their collections with music that has not been available for quite awhile. This time they have set their sights on North Carolina's sludge metal pioneers Buzz*oven. The band had some moderate success when this album was first released in 1994 thanks to a relentless tour schedule that left bruised and bloodied bodies in their wake along with a sound that fueled the violence they were known for. If not for the massive drug use by the band they might have been able to make some waves. Sadly they sputtered out and became just another blip on the metal radar screen. They recently have reformed but we will just have to wait and see if this is going to be something worth the effort.

Sore is an album that is really hard to listen to in one setting. Twelve tracks that really fall into one category with little variation along the way. They have their moments like the thrashy title track "Sore" but they put you through some real trying stuff to get there. This song opens with a few minutes of the sounds of a girl being tortured before the band kicks in. Maybe it will appeal to some but for my money I would stay away and also stay away from anyone who seems to be enjoying this intro!

These non musical interludes as with the movie clips between songs seem to mean something but knowing what kind of drugs fueled this stuff I don't think I want to know what it is. If you can take the 15 minute loop at the end of "This Is Not" that just keeps repeating "Want a ticket to hell" then you are a better person than I. It is little wonder why Roadrunner Records dropped them like a bad habit after this disc. Even though the music was fairly decent, the overall package was really atrocious thanks to all the secondary stuff on it. They make a strong case for the use of a music editor and would even get another star in the ranking if it had been used properly.

The second disc is four of the five songs from the more recent EP Violence From The Vault. Neither better or worse than the other stuff on here, it is just a continuation of what has come before. Complete with all the associated noise that comes from the minds of Buzzov*en it is a true test just to make it through to the end.

Track listing:

CD 1

1. Sore
2. Unwilling To Explain
3. Hollow
4. Done
5. I Don't Like You
6. Broken
7. Pathetic
8. Should I
9. Behaved
10. Blinded
11. Grit
12. This is Not...

CD 2

1. Mainline
2. Paintake
3. Breed
4. Nod

Added: February 21st 2011
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 1891
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by