Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hot Rails, The: Single Entendre

Ken Janssen, frontman for The Hot Rails, fancies himself "the laziest man in show business," according to press materials for this Cleveland-based band. And he's right. This is lowest-common-denominator rock, sleazy scuzz 'n' roll built for speed, stoner music for a new decade, a Seventies throwback with twin lead guitars, a chugging rhythm section and enough noisy tendencies to piss off the neighbors. The best song here is called "Black Horse," and I have no idea what it's about. Hell, I can barely understand crazy man Janssen's gruff, shouted vocals. But I dig it. And for a band consisting of five dudes who "drink beer and hopefully teach a few hipsters that it's OK if you don't take yourself too seriously," that's good enough. Other highlights? How about the sloppy southern rock of "Dickson, TN" and the poor-man's Jimi Hendrix tune "Dealbreaker"?

If you're fine with all that, Single Entendre which leaves nothing to the imagination with an album cover featuring cartoon illustrations of naked women piled on a heap of men and monsters should give plenty of pleasure.

Track Listing:
1) Genesis
2) Trigger Finger
3) I Am Supernatural (But I Don't Believe in the Supernatural)
4) Dealbreaker
5) Death From Above
6) Black Horse
7) Dickson, TN
8) Other Man
9) Snakes n' Sparklers

Added: January 27th 2012
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Official Website for The Hot Rails
Hits: 2188
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Hot Rails, The: Single Entendre
Posted by Jon Neudorf, SoT Staff Writer on 2012-01-27 01:45:33
My Score:

Hailing from Cleveland, The Hot Rails play a brand of hard rock that borrow more than a little from the '70s. Single Entendre is the band's second album and was released in 2010. Their first, To Hell With The Hot Rails came out in 2007.

In the band are Ken Janssen (vocals), James Rychak (guitar, vocals), David Ryder Paolucci (guitar, vocals), Nick Licata (bass, vocals) and Charles Druesedow (drums). From the sleazy looking album cover filled with naked women, ghouls and assorted other freaks to the just as sleazy music found within, this is not an album to be taken too seriously and with song titles like "I Am Supernatural (But I Don't Believe in the Supernatural)" I don't suppose the band does either.

The Hot Rails are able to capture the essence of '70s hard rock with songs like the Blue Oyster Cult inspired "Trigger Finger", the heavy Hendrix explorations of "I Am Supernatural" or the galloping riffs in the heavy blues rock of "Dealbreaker". While they don't break any new ground; that may be the understatement of the year, there is something refreshing about Single Entendre. Maybe this is what rock and roll is supposed to sound like, muddy production and all.

If you like your rock more than a little dirty, completely raw and balls to the wall you might find The Hot Rails worth your time.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by