Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Primal Fear: Primal Fear (remastered)

The year was 1998-superhuman vocalist Ralf Scheepers had left Gamma Ray and joined forces with Sinner bassist/vocalist Mat Sinner to form Primal Fear, a new outfit that would soon make a huge mark on the power metal scene with their self-titled debut album. Originally released on Nuclear Blast Records and now being remastered & reissued by Metal Mind Productions, this debut from Primal Fear still holds up very well 13 years later as a prime example of muscular & melodic power metal.

Joining Scheepers & Sinner here are guitarist Tom Naumann and drummer Klaus Sperling, and together the foursome created some seriously crunchy metal anthems. Songs such as "Chainbreaker", "Silver & Gold", "Promise Land", the power ballad "Tears of Rage", "Dollars", and "Battalions of Hate" are still favorites of fans to this date, filled with impeccable guitar riffs, screaming pinch harmonics, pounding rhythms, and Scheepers' histrionic, Rob Halford styled vocal delivery. Though Primal Fear's attack is pretty varied from song to song, they do launch into speed metal territory on occasion, such as the snarling riffs & double bass drum blast of the Helloween/Gamma Ray inspired "Nine Lives" and the rampaging "Thunderdome". Throw in the bonus cut "Breaker" as well as a blistering rendition of the Deep Purple classic "Speed King", and you have one hot debut from 1998 that sounds even better today. Naumann, who would find himself in and out of Primal Fear numerous times over the years, sounds spectacular here, his riffs & solos front and center in the mix, never failing to let the listener know that this is a 'guitar album' first and foremost.

Housed in a slick digipack, complete with a history of the band and a booklet containing photos and lyrics, Primal Fear is once again given new life thanks to Metal Mind. It's limited to 2000 copies so snatch yours up now.

Track Listing
1. Primal Fear
2. Chainbreaker
3. Silver & Gold
4. Promise Land
5. Formula One
6. Dollars
7. Nine Lives
8. Tears of Rage
9. Speedking
10. Battalions of Hate
11. Running In the Dust
12. Thunderdome
13. Breaker [*]

Added: February 13th 2011
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1932
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by