Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dead Shape Figure: The Disease Of St Vitus

The Disease Of St Vitus is the second album from Finnish metallers Dead Shape Figure. The band's debut release The Grand Karoshi set out their intentions to combine some straight ahead thrash themes with a more black metal outlook and I have to say that The Disease of St Vitus takes that template and builds on the brash, yet technical metal, creating a mighty and melodic racket in the process.

Opener "Suicide Continental" sets the scene perfectly with a sound not too far from what you'd expect if Slayer had been jamming with early Metallica. The thunderous drums, which are excellent throughout the album races along at breakneck speed, but slightly there are also more restrained passages that make for a style that is packed with lethal intent, but also contains enough melody and poise to entice non extreme metal believers in to the fold. Also the mixture of clean and growled vocals makes from a welcome respite from the ever increasing copy cat growlers that are beginning litter the metal scene. What also works in the band's favour is that unlike most of their peers Dead Shape Figure have opted for longer songs that are given time to alter their shape and attack rather than a collection of short ideas masquerading as songs.

Tracks like the excellent "Seraphim" where the thrash and black elements are allowed to collide head on, or the mid-paced "Madonna Of Seven Sorrows" are brimming with excellent riffs and ever changing tempos that really grip your attention and while it is not all they rely on, the sheer power and force of it all is impressive.

The Disease Of St Vitus is the sound of a band really finding their feet and while they are far from alone in this genre, there is much on this album that suggests that come judgement day Dead Shape Figure will be standing tall and proud as survivors. This is an excellent album from a band that would appear to be on the cusp of making some really special music and if they continue to mature at the same rate, album number three should be stunning!

Track Listing
1. Suicide Continental
2. Seraphim
3. Face On The Nails
4. Felix Culpa
5. Amberstar
6. Madonna Of Seven Sorrows
7. Idiopolis
8. Shrouds
9. Cities Of The Plain

Added: January 31st 2011
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Dead Shape Figure MySpace
Hits: 1787
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by