Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Time Zero: Outcast of Civilization

They come from the mile high city of Denver Colorado and deliver a brand of instrumental music that you not only listen to, you absorb. Whether it is the jazzy "Children Of No Name", the heavy "Conflagration" or the bluesy melodic "Field Of Tears" this band puts you into whatever mindset they deem appropriate. Not very often do you come across a disc that can so completely immerse you in such a wide bevy of emotions. At times they can put you at ease with a terrific melody such as the dynamic "Invisible Promises" then they throw you into a bit of turmoil with the chaotic "Human Intrusion".

This debut album is enough to really make the mouth water for any fan of instrumental guitar based music. I really cannot put it into any specific genre as they transcend so many. There is plenty here for the prog fans as well as the head bangers and even those that want some tasty treats to wind down with at the end of the day. To try and pinpoint their sound is impossible. Take for instance my favorite song on the disc "Vanguard". Starting out with a jazzy guitar intro that turns into some very heavy chops then returns to the melody line that starts out the song with some added terrific keyboard interludes that just defies description. From there it takes you through a mesmerizing patchwork of styles and tantalizing sounds that all play around the reoccurring melody. There is a little bit of Satriani feel to it but other than that, it is pure Time Zero and that means some heady stuff from some very accomplished musicians. They have set the bar extremely high on this initial offering and I certainly hope they can maintain this level of quality.

The band consists of David Quicho on guitar, Mane Cabrales on drums and Andea Mastrigli on bass. These guys did get a little help with the disc from some very special guest appearances. Lending a hand is a virtual who's who of metal music. You know they have something special when guys like Ty Tabor on guitar, Matt Guillory on keyboards, Brett Garsed on guitar, Alex Argento on keys and T. J. Helmerich on guitar are fighting to get on the album. It is the end result that is important and this one is an early pick for the best of list for 2011. An instrumental disc is never easy but Time Zero shows me more than a lot of the seasoned players who practice this craft. I will be keeping a close eye and ear on this band and expect great things in the future if this album is any indication of things to come.

Track listing:

1. Children Of No Name
2. Conflagration
3. Field Of Tears
4. Revenge
5. Vanguard
6. Invisible Promises
7. Urgent Solution
8. Human Intrusion
9. Conflict Of Interest
10. Manifesto

Added: January 30th 2011
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 3823
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by