Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tempus Fugit: Shallow Water Blackout

When I first saw the cover and name I immediately thought, Yes cover band. But these guys are not in any way. This is original sounding pop/rock.

"Dodgy" starts things off with a bang. It's a fast moving rock n' roll song full of good guitar, keys, bass, drums, and yes…cowbell! A good straight ahead rocker that will lift you out of your seat and get you out on the floor.

"Presence" is about as close to Yes as this band gets. It's a very good proggy sounding song full of cool keys and guitar that open the song well. Good vocals and support of drums. The guitars and keys make this one of the best songs on the album.

"Shallow Water Blackout", the title track, starts off with some great solo guitar and vocals. The acoustic guitar and those drums work perfectly in unison. You definitely can hear why this song became the title track. Very well constructed and performed. Those launching guitar buzzes are some of the highlights of the album. The heavier drums and guitar that permeate the rest of the track are wonderful.

There are only bridges between each song on this album and the guitar chord bridge that brings us to "Migrations" is very good. Then the action begins with cool keys and more powerful guitars. The drums on this song are a good reason to buy this album. The lyrics are emotional and bring feeling to each of the songs. "Show me an ocean that's filled with tears. Show me a dream that's filled with years. " The 'Emerson – like' keys that follow are worth the price of admission alone.

The acoustic guitar which brings us to "Soap Stains and Ashes" will bring back memories of some Pink Floyd classics. "Holding on to each other we walk away and smile". Written in the summer of 1999. Yeah, that warm kind of summer song complete with awesome acoustic guitar. There's even a melody that brings back memories of Tea Party's first album in here.

"Just Another Day" sounds like a happy, fun song, until you listen to the lyrics. There is an unofficial video on You Tube which takes you on a plane ride while you listen. Now that's fun.

The opening drums and launching guitars on "Do You Know What I Mean?", get this short almost instrumental song off and rolling fast.

"New Path" opens fast with powerful guitars and blasting drums. The hardest song on the album.

"Drownproofing" starts off slow with acoustic guitar, softer drums and piano. "After New Path", this one is calming and relaxing. "Still waters are rising in my eyes. Every drop becomes a downpour."

"The Poetry Song" is an instrumental full of musical poetry from Styx – like keys, guitar, and drums.


Track Listing:

  1. Dodgy
  2. Presence
  3. Shallow Water Blackout
  4. Migrations
  5. Soap Stains and Ashes
  6. Just Another day
  7. Do You Know What I Mean?
  8. New Path
  9. Drownproofing
  10. The Poetry Song

Added: January 30th 2011
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4474
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by