Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Antimatter: Alternative Matter

After a decade of music since their beginning, founding member Mick Moss is presenting a compilation of sort. This is not a typical greatest hits type of compilation, but rather a journey through the vaults of Antimatter. Mick has put together a series of alternate versions, demos and live recordings kept unreleased so far.

According to main man Moss, what amazed him is how coherent this work was when put together even if it's from various periods. Personally, although I liked most of this material, I feel some tracks are somewhat unfitting in the general scenario. What I'm talking about here is those more keyboard, even techno/danceable driven tunes. Examples of those are: "Saviour"and "Expire (CD1)". Then you have those weirder/experimental moments on: "God is Coming" and "Expire (CD2). The good news though is that on two CDs/22 tracks, tossing those aside gives you quite a bit of good music to enjoy. Antimatter is best known as an ambient/dark project, and lots of compositions are pointing towards that direction. This band also possesses a very pleasant Pink Floyd vibe in its mood. Then you have numerous tunes that include those organic acoustic guitar tones, just to my own selfish pleasure. Mick Moss plays a clean picking, arpeggios driven, style of acoustic guitar and its sound is plain exquisite, even in live performances when the electro-acoustic is being used. Mick's distinctive voice is often backed by nice female vocals. Those of you that are familiar with the band will recognized many of the tracks presented, while new comer are bound to discover an interesting band. There are many tracks to mention, but to sum up my favorites on CD1: "The Art of a Soft Landing", "Landlocked "and "Flowers"; CD2: "A Portrait of the Young Man", "Everything You Know is Wrong" and "Over Your Shoulder".

Basically Alternative Matter is bound to please not only the fans, but people that are into ambient/acoustic music with a Pink Floyd edge.

Track listing:
01. Black Sun (Dead Can Dance Tribute)
02. The Art Of A Soft Landing (Acoustic, Enhanced)
03. Far Away (Live)
04. Saviour (Reel To Reel Demo)
05. Landlocked (Mick Moss Remix)
06. In Stone (Acoustic, Enhanced)
07. Epitaph (New Version)
08. Terminal (Duncan Patterson Remix)
09. Mr White (Live)
10. Flowers (New Version)
11. Expire (Lackluster Remix)

01. God Is Coming (Duncan Patterson Remix)
02. Everything You Know Is Wrong (Acoustic, Enhanced)
03. A Portrait Of The Young Man (Enhanced)
04. Flowers (Acoustic)
05. Holocaust (Reel To Reel Demo)
06. The Art Of A Soft Landing (4 Track Demo)
07. Expire (Atrabilis Sunrise Remix)
08. Over Your Shoulder (Acoustic)
09. Dream (4 Track Demo)
10. Lost Control (Acoustic, Enhanced)
11. Epitaph (Orchestral Mix)

Added: January 23rd 2011
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 1840
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by