Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Giant: Promised Land

Released early in 2010, the band Giant returns with a new line-up to once again join the fray in the AOR battlefield. Joining founding members Mike Brignardello (bass) and David Huff (drums) are former Winger and Black Oak Arkansas guitarist John Roth along with the veteran frontman Terry Brock. Founder and lead singer Dana Huff was not able to participate fully on the disc but did manage to lend his songwriting talents along with a bit of guitar here and there. Even though it might have altered what your recollection of Giant is, the additions to the band has not caused any let down and this version of the group is as strong as ever, just a little bit different.

First off, this is not a disc that ventures into any new territory or even stretch the boundaries of the melodic rock field in which they reside. What they do give you is an album filled with the catchy choruses, hooky riffs and dynamic vocals as always provided by Mr. Brock. The real surprise you are going to get is the abilities of John Roth on guitar. His stints with his former groups did little to showcase the talent that is displayed on this album. Sure he had exposure to this style with Winger but it is as if he is finally unleashed and is determined to make the most of it.

Promised Land is a mixture of mid tempo rockers in the vein on Journey, John Waite or Bon Jovi with the type of power ballads that every band of that era made mandatory on each release. Kicking off with the moderate "Believer (Redux)" the soaring vocals are backed by some very fine underlying guitar work. This is not earth shattering stuff but it is high quality AOR that does have the secret weapon named John Roth.

The direction they start on the first song is not deviated from much. Other than the power ballads "Our Love", "Through My Eyes" and "Dying To See You" they keep pretty much to the standard formula. The other deviation comes at the end of the disc where the songs "Double Trouble", "Complicated Man" and "Save Me" all have a little more grit to them.

This one took me a little bit by surprise. It is another example where you should not have any pre-conceived notions on a group when you listen to them. I would have bet the house that this one would have been nothing short of boring but thanks to Terry Brock and his usual fantastic vocals along with John Roth who totally amazed me with his playing, this disc is much more than run of the mill AOR.

Track Listing:

1. Believer (Redux)
2. Promise Land
3. Never Surrender
4. Our Love
5. Prisoner Of Love
6. Two Worlds Collide
7. Plenty Of Love
8. Through My Eyes
9. I'll Wait For You
10. Dying To See You
11. Double Trouble
12. Complicated Man (Bonus Track)
13. Save Me

Added: January 16th 2011
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2300
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by