Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Scott Soto, Jeff: Live At Firefest 2008

FIREFEST is THE melodic rock event of the UK, which for the uninitiated, is a festival that you really need to attend if you haven't already, trust me a good time will be had by all. It's nice to be able to review a show that you have attended, but putting that to one side, Jeff Scott Soto in conjunction with Frontiers have wisely recorded and made the show commercially available, something that the organisers of Firefest have done in the past to their credit. Secretly there are one or two other bands that have played through the years I wish they had done this for too. Maybe one day?

Jeff is no stranger to the recording world having worked and recorded with many bands, hands up melodic rock lovers out there that don't have at least one album in their collection that doesn't feature Jeff? He's also released several solo albums too, including JSS live at the Gods 2002, a precursor to Firefest and another show that I was at.

Jeff's live backing band consists of Howie Simon (guitar and backing vocals), Gary Schutt (bass, keyboards and backing vocals) and Dave Dzialak (drums and percussions) and boy they are on fire, really offering leverage to the songs played throughout the set, whilst Jeff delivers his vocal gymnastics. The balance of the production is rich and warm, offering real depth and dimension to the seventeen songs on offer here, including an eleven minute plus "Funky Medley", which really displays in my eyes Jeff's roots and real love for music, a climatic closing of a great set, the fans just eating out of his hands.

Live at Firefest 2008 is a double cd although the total running time is just over 80 mins, so there is plenty of wasted space here, an opportunity that has been missed to maybe have offer up some nice extras to bolster the package?

Anyway Jeff's stylish vocal delivery more than makes up for this, note perfect, especially on the stunning "Gin & Tonic Sky", the ironic opener "21st Century Man", featuring some great vocal harmonies and killer guitar work, a bluesy "Soul Divine", "Guitar Jam" that really defines how dexterous and versatile the band are, the dirty and nasty "Testify" and the inimitable ballad "Broken Man" making it a must have for all Jeff Scott Soto fans. There is also a DVD of the show that is available too, which one assumes you'll want to possess also.

Track Listing:
1 21st Century Man
2 Colour My XTC (prelude)
3 Soul Divine
4 Drowning
5 Our Song
6 DD Solo
7 Guitar Jam
8 Mountain
9 Eyes Of Love
10 Testify
11 Broken Man
12 Hey
13 Crazy
14 Piano Medley (If This Is The End, Nobody Said It Was Easy, 4 U)
15 Gin & Tonic Sky
16 I'll Be Waiting
17 Funky Medley (Play That Funky Music, Jungle Boogie, The Roof Is On Fire, Brick House, Shake Your Booty, Kung Fu Fighting, Yo Baby Yo, Macho Man, Ice Ice Baby, Stayin' Alive, Another One Bites The Dust, Walk This Way, My Love, My Friend)

Added: December 31st 2010
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 1614
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by