Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Poodles, The: No Quarter

It's party time, glam metal gods The Poodles have hit town and everyone is invited, the more the merrier. Their melodic groove infected chicanery will have you rocking and a rolling, putting a big smile on you face. "No Quarter" sixty minutes plus of live fun, what more can you ask for? This isn't social statement music, just big hair big fun entertainment from Sweden that will have you singing along, air guitars flailing, pulling all the poses that will make you the perfect rock god.

Live recordings can be a somewhat strange device, hated by some adored by others, hell some live albums have even made some bands careers. The Poodles have already recorded three strong studio albums, so "No Quarter" has its work cut out. The quality of the recordings are top notch, although the audience seem somewhat muted within the sonics, which does make it sound clinical and sanitized at times, missing those warts and all errors of such classics as UFO's "Strangers In The Night" or Lizzy's "Live And Dangerous", but other than that there are no qualms from these quarters.

Jakob Samuel is in fine form on vocals whilst Bergqvist, Edberg and Lundqvist contribute to the fourteen tracks on offer making sure that they are conveyed to you ears with precision and clarity. It may all be cliché and generic, but the main thing is that it is FUN, which is the whole point of this exercise. The live arena is the place to catch these guys plying their trade and I would suggest that you purchase a copy of the "In The Flesh" DVD of this show, as I believe the band are a more visual experience and will confirm what I am talking about. Hey get both, then all the angles are covered.

So having already released three previous albums, the band has chosen well for their setlist, featuring classy songs like the anthemic "Metal Will Stand Tall", the ballad "One Out Of Ten", a stunning "Lullaby For Jimmy" and the memorable album closer "Line Of Fire", but in truth there aren't any weak songs here, even the "Drum Solo" brings backs memories from days of old, adding to the character of the whole affair.

This is album number four, which is a perfect stepping stone, plugging the hole for their fans, a fitting introduction to Frontiers roster, whilst their fans await their next album "Performocracy" in 2011.

Track Listing
1 Too much of Everything
2 Caroline
3 Seven Seas
4 Metal Will Stand Tall
5 Like No Tomorrow
6 One Out Of Ten
7 Lullaby For Jimmy
8 Drum Solo
9 Echoes From The Past
10 Thunderball
11 I Rule The Night
12 Night Of Passion
13 Flesh & Blood
14 Line Of Fire

Added: December 23rd 2010
Reviewer: John OBoyle
Related Link:
Hits: 1814
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by