Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Horned Almighty: Necro Spirituals

Can you see what they did there with the album title? Clever eh? Fortunately the music contained within is less crass. With this, their fourth album Denmark's Horned Almighty continue to carve out a useful niche for themselves in what is a somewhat over crowded marketplace.

At times things almost grind down towards doom ("The Blasphemous Burden")but generally this is in-your-face metal with a punk edge. Simon "Smerte" Petersen on vocals is highly listenable and unusually for the genre one doesn't have to contort one's ears to grasp what he's singing and that's always a bonus.

Necro Spirituals won't change the world as we know it but it's arguably better than the band's previous work and passes the time nicely although someone needs to tell Scandinavia that the "look" of many Black/Death Metal bands is making the rest of the world laugh at you.

Track Listing:

  1. 'Necro Spirituals
  2. 'Fountain Of A Thousand Plagues'
  3. 'Sworn Divine Vengeance'
  4. 'Age Of Scorn'
  5. 'In Jubilation And Disgust'
  6. 'Blessing The World In Pestilence'
  7. 'The Illuminated Void'
  8. 'Blasphemous Burden'
  9. 'Absolved In The Sight Of God'

Added: December 19th 2010
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 1901
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by