Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Del Rey: Immemorial

With Immemorial, Chicago based Del Rey deliver their fourth full length release. Now Del Rey has been established back in 1997 in a suburb of Chicago,and they started out from a very diverse background, recording a self produced EP in 1999.

Ever since their music has been expanding and developing. Del Rey's music is music in the purest form, as you will hear no singing or whatever, all is purely instrumental. The music on Immemorial is intense, like you would expect from a band making Post rock experimental music, sometimes psychedelic in nature.

The band currently consists of the following members: Michael Johnson: drums, keyboards, programming, Chris Cowgill: bass, bassVI, keyboards, Damien Burke: guitar, bassVI, Eben English: guitar, bassVI, drums, keyboards, programming, Jason Ward: keyboards, guitar, percussion, atmospherics. This five piece band really know how to make music worthwhile.

All of the songs are mostly guitar oriented songs, with fast layers of high intense playing of these guitars. The songs themselves vary in length of little over a minute like on "Ouisch", to a lengthier 11 minutes in "Return Of The son Of Fog Rider". Instrumental music is more difficult to bring across to other people in my opinion than is music with vocals. As with a song with lyrics you are drawn towards a certain point where the author wants you. To make the same happen in instrumental music, well that's another ball game all together. With these instrumentals a listener needs to rely more on his own interpretation, his imagination if you will.

Why do I write this? I believe Del Rey succeed very well in bringing life to their songs, each of them. It's fun listening to this album. I didn't know these guys, never heard one shred of their music previously but they are quite good, and I need to find out more I reckon.

Very well done, well produced. Great guitar work, very well thought of backline to every song. Sometimes distorted then again clean. Great job.

Track listing:
01 Return Of The Son Of Fog Rider
02 E Pluribus Unicorn
03 Innumeracy
04 Silent Weapons For Quiet Wars
05 Ouisch
06 These Children That Come At You With Knives
07 Ancestral

Added: December 19th 2010
Reviewer: Gert Hulshof
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1745
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by