Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Frozen Ocean: Frozen Ocean

I found this band after listening to their music on their My Space site. It sounded so good and different from what I was listening to that I requested a promo copy for review. This is a great album with a natural consciousness. The acoustic guitar blends so well with the electric throughout this album. The theme is all about feeling things from a real perspective as opposed to our growing virtual world. The desire to bring back the feelings we seem to have left behind as we embrace more and more of the virtual world. An excellent album full of emotion for the globe and all of its essential resources. This album transfers the energy it desires to share. Highly recommended.

Banker's War Cool acoustic chords blend well with the electric guitar providing background support. Then the vocals, "The rich stay rich and the poor stay poor." A commentary on the current state of political affairs. The music is acoustic driven and earthy. "No more war. No more violence." Then a wonderful instrumental mix of acoustic and electric lead guitar as the drums add support. An excellent way to open an album full of emotion and virtuoso guitar playing.

Can't Beat This Feeling Slow acoustic guitar, drums and vocals. Robert's original vocals again with deep feeling for the music. An attempt, with acoustic guitar, to bring back the feeling of living life to its fullest.

Dangerous Ground Excellent electric and acoustic mix. "We are walking on dangerous ground. "Six degrees warmer. A global meltdown." A very emotional appeal to change.

Energy The acoustic guitar mixed with the electric really does capture that feeling of getting back to nature and what we have taken for granted. "Each day brings the sunshine within. Meditate; let her take you to that higher place. When you are living your dream." The emotion of feeling everything around you again. "Forgetting your past and living your now." That line captures the essence of the album's theme perfectly. The guitar solos after these lines are spectacular.

Find Your Way Electric lead this time with acoustic supporting so well. Robert's vocals bring back reminders of A-Ha's Morten Harket. He has a similar delivery. Especially when compared to Harket's vocals on East of the Sun, West of the Moon.

Innocence Broken One of the epics on the album at 7:17, and it starts off with epic chords from the acoustic along with some grinding electric guitar. "But I think it's time to climb up through the pain. Am I just too afraid to lose everything? Nothing is easy." The grinding electric coupled with that acoustic is just something you have to hear to fully appreciate.

Mother Earth A great playful acoustic and electric opening to this song, despite the warning lyrics. "It's not enough to know we're doing wrong to this world." The acoustic and the percussion mix well to provide a flamenco feel that makes this one of the best songs on an album of hits. The guitar riffs and solos are just incredible.

Song Bird Incredible acoustic guitar and percussion sounds to open this awesome song. This one has the feel and sound of Jeff Martin's solo work or some of the acoustic music from the Canadian band Tea Party. The intricate guitar work is well worth the price of admission.

Soul Divine More beautiful, dreamy acoustic guitar. "Let the wind blow your mind. This forgotten place in time." You can just see these guys playing this out on the shoreline of Spanish Banks up in British Columbia by the fireside. "Mesmerized by the fire in her eyes. Feel her crashing waves." Yes, it captures the spirit of the experience well.

Extreme Ice A wondrous and wandering acoustic guitar solo to open the close of this epic album full of feeling and emotion. An instrumental full of intricate acoustic and electric guitar and percussion work. Perfect way to close the album; full of feeling.

Track Listing

  1. Banker's War
  2. Can't Beat This Feeling
  3. Dangerous Ground
  4. Energy
  5. Find Your Way
  6. Innocence Broken
  7. Mother Earth
  8. Song Bird
  9. Soul Divine
  10. Extrene ice

Added: December 15th 2010
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 1954
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by