Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

After The Burial: In Dreams

ATB in short stands for the band After The Burial. This five piece Deathcore Metal band have released their 3rd album here called In Dreams. Now some might say you're wrong it is their fourth, Well, maybe, as ATB released their first album back in 2006, an independant release. Later they signed up with Sumerian Records to make their second album. After this they had a vocalist change and Sumerian thought it appropriate to re-release album two with the new vocalist. So there are two releases of their second album, one with their former vocalist and the second one with Anthony Notarmaso taking care of vocals. While I am at it I might as well give you the names of the other members of ATB, we have Justin Lowe and Trent Hafdahl on guitars, Lerichard Foral playing the basses and Dan Carle banging the drums.

Now Deathcore is a stream of music within Metal you either like or completely hate. Most primarily due to the vocals within deathcore Metal. First you need to make sure you listen closely if you want to understand the very deep grunts of the vocalists in the band. I have a deep respect for these guys, you really need to be good at this because you really do strain your vocal chords to an extend that if you are no good at it you will permanently damage them. Leaving you with no voice or a bad one if you are lucky.

Musically ATB is like all the hard and Heavy metal bands, speeding chords, fast soloing. Drums pounding away setting the pace for all the songs in question. Now In Dreams is an 8 track album just passing 30 minutes, to me long enough it is about all I can take for a day in grunting vocals, and without the grunting the music I can listen to a longer although it is rather rough around the edges as well. Has a rough production, but that is deathcore, right?

All in all if you like death- core this may well be a certain buy. But not for me.

Track listing:
01 My Frailty
02 Your Troubles Will Cease and Fortune Will Smile Upon You
03 Pendulum
04 Bread Crumbs And White Stones
05 To Carry You Away
06 Sleeper
07 Promises Kept
08 Encased In Ice

Added: December 12th 2010
Reviewer: Gert Hulshof
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2385
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by