Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Forbidden: Omega Wave

It's amazing how so many of the major thrash bands of the 1980's are returning in recent years bigger, badder, and better than ever. Not to be outdone by Megadeth, Exodus, Overkill, Testament, Heathen, and Death Angel, the Bay Area's Forbidden have also joined the fray, and Omega Wave is one hell of a blistering thrash metal release.

Many of the things we all loved about classic Forbidden are here once again on Omega Wave, like the multi-faceted vocal acrobatics of Russ Anderson (soaring clean vocals and kick ass gruff shouts), the killer riffs from Craig Locicero, and songs that just stick in your head and gaurantee immediate headbanging, all are fully on display on this first new studio album in 13 years. Joining the fun this time around is longtime bassist Matt Camacho, new guitarist Steve Smyth (ex-Nevermore, Testament, and Dragonlord), and new drummer Mark Hernandez (ex-Violence, Heathen), making this a very formidable line-up for Omega Wave. Locicero and Smith are a tremendous guitar tandem, as the two lay down plenty of thunderous, intricate riffs and blazing solos on such killer cuts as "Adapt or Die", "Overthrow", "Forsaken at the Gates", and the crushing "Dragging My Casket". There's even a good amount of progressive tinged songs here, like the Nevermore-ish ripper "Inhuman Race" and the bruising yet complex rager that is the title track. Through it all Anderson plays many parts and hits upon a boatload of vocal styles, showing how he is still one of the most diverse singers in thrash.

Omega Wave isn't going to blow open and reinvent what we all know to be thrash metal, but damn if this isn't some of the most precise, kick ass thrash we've heard coming from the scene in years. Kudos to Forbidden for making themselves totally relevent yet again.

Track Listing
1. Alpha Century 02:00
2. Forsaken at The Gates 04:54
3. Overthrow 04:43
4. Adapt Or Die 05:14
5. Swine 06:30
6. Chatter 02:16
7. Dragging My Casket 06:44
8. Hopenosis 05:30
9. Immortal Wounds 05:29
10. Behind The Mask 05:39
11. Inhuman Race 06:25
12. Omega Wave 06:00

Added: December 6th 2010
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 3324
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by