Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

NewsNew Release from Spirits Burning

Posted on Wednesday, June 23 2021 @ 02:00:38 CDT by Pete Pardo
Progressive Rock Karen Anderson writes:

For Immediate Release
Spirits Burning Featuring Family Members of King Crimson, Steeleye Span, Tangerine Dream, Van Der Graaf Generator, & Curved Air Release New Instrumental Album

California: " “Evolution Ritual” is the 16th studio album from the Spirits Burning collective. It includes 17 new songs, and is the band’s first acoustic-based instrumental album. The album features an impressive group of violinists and other instrumentalists: violinists David Cross (King Crimson), Steeleye Span family members Peter Knight and Jessie May Smart, Hoshiko Yamane (Tangerine Dream), Graham Smith (Van Der Graaf), Darryl Way (Curved Air), and Jonathan Segel (Camper Van Beethoven); wind/reed players David Jackson (Van Der Graaf), Theo Travis (Soft Machine), Bridget Wishart (Hawkwind), Robert Rich, and Dave Newhouse (The Muffins), as well as famed novelist Michael Moorcock on harmonica. The album also includes performances by bassists Alan Davey (Hawkwind) and Steve York (Dr. John), drummer Albert Bouchard (Blue Öyster Cult), percussionist Monty Oxymoron (The Damned), pianist Cyrille Verdeaux (Clearlight), guitarist Harry Williamson, cellist Ursula Pank (Third Ear Band), and others musicians.

Says founding member and band leader Don Falcone, “ ‘Evolution Ritual’ builds on the mystery and connectivity of our past releases, this time focusing on acoustic instruments and real-world sounds. The album mixes folk (English, Greek, and Americana), prog, experimental, and other music genres. The contributions each musician made to this album are amazing. I hope everyone enjoys this change of pace, before we return to our next space rock adventure.”

Since 1998, Spirits Burning has brought together over 265 musicians (from the family trees of Blue Öyster Cult, Gong, Hawkwind, Van Der Graaf Generator, and many other groups). Musicians (such as Clearlight’s Cyrille Verdeaux) have recorded parts in our home base in Northern California, while captain Don Falcone has also done remote recordings (such as flying to Austin to record Michael Moorcock). Other crew members (such as Bridget Wishart and Albert Bouchard) have recorded their parts in their respective local studios. The result is an ongoing series of albums created by an incredible array of musicians.

Evolution Ritual is available now on CD, or as a digital album
1. Evolution Ritual featuring Monty Oxymoron & Bridget Wishart
2. Caves featuring Darryl Way, Monty Oxymoron, & Bridget Wishart
3. The Laws Of Umber featuring David Jackson, Bridget Wishart, & Steve York
4. Abandoned Habitat featuring Michael Moorcock & Mick Slattery
5. The Dream Find featuring David Cross, Cyrille Verdeaux, & Robert Rich
6. Far & Away The Lands Escape, Bias Of Recency featuring Graham Smith
7. Strolling Into The Future featuring Albert Bouchard, Andy Dalby, & Jessie Mae Smart
8. Shadow Language featuring Bridget Wishart
9. Seasiders featuring David Jackson, Michael Moorcock, & Jonathan Segel
10. Lookout Point featuring Alan Davey
11. Outside World featuring Jonathan Segel & Bridget Wishart
12. Your Better Angels featuring Peter Knight
13. As The Sky Was Being Painted featuring Alan Davey & Harry Williamson
14. Theatre On The Other Side Of The Sea featuring David Jackson & Michael Moorcock
15. Alternating Universes featuring Theo Travis & Steve York
16. Spruce featuring Harry Williamson
17. Night Of The Moon Dial featuring Hoshiko Yamane
Official release date: June 4, 2021
To purchase CD/Digital Album or Digital Album:
To purchase CD: "Spirits Burning "Evolution Ritual" CD" For more Spirits Burning information:
Press inquiries
Noh Poetry Records
(High-Resolution version of the cover available here.)

Hits: 159

Related Links
· More about Progressive Rock
· News by petepardo

Most read story about Progressive Rock:
Trans-Siberian Orchestra at The Verizon Wireless Arena, Manchester, NH November

Printer Friendly Page  Print
Send  Send to a Friend

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by