Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

ConcertsThe Killfest Tour 2012 at Sheffield Corporation, UK, 10/8/2012

Posted on Tuesday, October 16 2012 @ 06:49:01 CDT by Pete Pardo
Heavy Metal

The Killfest Tour rolled into Sheffield for one of only two U.K shows, bringing with it a very respectable ensemble of bands-Overkill, 3 Inches Of Blood, Purified In Blood, and Degradead. The previous night saw London laid to waste, tonight was Sheffield's turn and the Scandinavian's were out in force this evening making up half the bill.

Degradead had the task of being first band to warm up the crowd and came away with a healthy invasion of their merch stand. The Swedish quartet, sounding like a harder meaner InFlames certainly added some energy and heat to the room.

Taking it up a notch or two in the energy stakes came Norway's Purified In Blood, if Degradead warmed the crowd up PIB simply ignited them. A ferocious display saw vocalist Hallgeir interact with the crowd with the ferocity of a demon preacher. Spewing forth his metal message with a sporadic flurry of melodic overtures it was a sight to behold. Hurling himself into the crowd and in the middle of a youthful pit PIB certainly left an impression, awesome stuff, look forward to their next visit.

3 Inches Of Blood have released a great old school album this year and followed it up with some sterling performances, tonight was no exception. With the quick change over's Cam Pipes was soon onstage belting out the high pitched styling's of 'Deadly Sinners & Metal Woman'. The ever present bass rumblings of Byron Stroud lay waste for the guitar fury to penetrate the eardrums resulting in Metal solo heaven. An all too quick set soon came to an end but memorable never the less.

This is what we were all here to see, Overkill. With their latest album 'The Electric Age' ripping up speakers around the globe and word that their live show was incendiary, anticipation was at fever pitch. Bobby "Blitz" is no spring chicken but hell, he bounds around the stage with the vigor of a man the quarter of his age. His razor sharp, Gatling gun vocals pierce the air with set opener 'Come And Get it'. The sound is precise and tight, guitars scream throughout the venue, are these guys really the age they are? What a killer performance, truly showing the young pups of Metal a thing or two and the assembled lifelong fans lap up every fist pumping anthem. With a career drawing close to its 30th anniversary Overkill have a wealth of material to choose from, 'Hello From The Gutter' is welcomed with as much enthusiasm as new tunes like 'Electric Rattlesnake'. With an encore of 'Coma' & Fuck You' this Killfest Tour came to its Metal infused climax, what a gig, what a band, the best way to spend a Monday night without question.

Words & Pictures
Mark Davies.

Overkill Set List:-
1. Come and Get It
2. Bring Me the Night
3. Rotten to the Core
4. It Lives
5. Electric Rattlesnake
6. Hello From the Gutter
7. Ironbound
8. Save Yourself
9. Old School
10. Who Tends the Fire
11. In Union We Stand
12. Elimination
13. Encore:
13. Coma
14. Fuck You / Powersurge

Hits: 2163

Related Links
· More about Heavy Metal
· News by petepardo

Most read story about Heavy Metal:
Lynch at 50: George Lynch looks ahead with lessons from the past

Printer Friendly Page  Print
Send  Send to a Friend

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by