Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Gruntruck: Inside Yours/Push (remastered)

One of the underground co-founders of the Seattle Grunge scene, Gruntruck, who never received the credit or success of their contemporaries like Alice in Chains, Soundgarden or Pearl Jam but have had their 2 records, Inside Yours and Push re-released by Metal Mind Productions. While never reaching the worldwide success of the other bands mentioned, Gruntruck were a beloved band in their hometown area of Seattle.

Originally released on Roadrunner Records, Gruntruck's 2 CDs were both of quality while never reaching a large audience. Their first release, Inside Yours, has that early Seattle garage band sound and feel, while their 2nd effort, Push, shows a lot of growth and much more polish to it. Guitar riffs are very garagey and sloppy on the first record and get much tighter and focused on the second. Vocals by the late Ben McMillan (who passed away in 2008 of Diabetes) paint the landscape of the early '90's sound that would soon become the mainstream theme of Grunge.

Packaged as a 2 CD set, Inside Yours/Push is now available for those who either never had the chance to check out the band originally in the early '90's or for fans to add these discs to their collection. Out of the 2 discs, Push is definitely the more metallic of the 2, with the CD opener, "Tribe" and the like that follow. Kerrang! Magazine even picked Push as their #18 Album of the Year in 1992.Powerful songs with a Grungy base throughout, Gruntruck missed out on cashing in on the huge success that was afforded to a lot of other Grunge bands of that time, but here is your chance to grab a band that was overlooked and relive the '90's. Not a bad band from the early days of Grunge.

Track Listing
Inside Yours

  1. Not a Lot to Save
  2. Crucifunkin'
  3. Paint
  4. Eyes of Stone
  5. So Long
  6. Buried
  7. Flesh Fever
  8. Inside Yours
  9. Move in Silence
  10. Melt
  11. Broken


  1. "Tribe"
  2. "Machine Action"
  3. "Racked"
  4. "Crazy Love"
  5. "Above Me"
  6. "Gotta Believe"
  7. "Break"
  8. "Slow Scorch"
  9. "Follow"
  10. "Body Farm"
  11. "Lose"
  12. "Push"

Added: October 21st 2010
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band MySpace Page
Hits: 2018
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by