Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Miriodor: Live 89

Way back in 1989, Montreal-based RIO band Miriodor were a trio made up of Pascal Globensky (keyboards and synthesizers), Remi Leclerc (percussions and synthesizers) and Sabin Hudon (saxophones and synthesizers). Even back then, they were making their signature "Bizarro-world Funhouse" music. In that year, they played a few shows in Montreal, Quebec City, and Caen (France). These shows were recorded on cassette, and some of these tracks have been remastered to be released by ProgQuébec.

No matter who is in the band (although Globensky and Leclerc have been there since its inception) or how many instruments are being featured, Miriodor have always known how to make very interesting, highly entertaining music. The material on this live disc from 20 years ago is a testament to that fact. 12 tracks of quirky, fun, and deceptively intricate music is played with panache and flair. Hudon's saxophonic mayhem is the perfect punctuation to Leclerc's idiosyncratic percussive style, and Globensky's more subtle keyboard approach. The tracks offer up a barrage of counterpoints, in the inimitable style that has become the band's signature. There is no audience heard despite this being live, and the sound quality of these recordings is remarkably good.

Fans of the band's discography will definitely want to add this one ot their collection. The material is closer to the kind of music they were releasing in the mid-90s (circa Jongleries Elastiques, only without any guitar) than their more recent works. As far as this reviewer is concerned, it's all good. This band is proving on this recording that they've always been an excellent live group. It's no wonder they've practically become FMPM's house band.

Track Listing:

  1. Cheval Fou (Demented Horse) (5:03)
  2. Piège (Trap) (3:08)
  3. Cortège (Procession) (3:34)
  4. Insomnie Prémonitoire (Premonitory Insomnia) (6:45)
  5. Tic-Toc 3:24
  6. Regards (6:16)
  7. Réseau (Network) (3:48)
  8. La Triste Histoire D'Un Laitier (A Milkman's Adventure) (2:48)
  9. Suspicion (5:21)
  10. Transmission (4:41)
  11. Entraperçu (Glimpse) (3:12)
  12. A Bout De Souffle (Breathless) (3:34)

Added: October 13th 2009
Reviewer: Yves Dubé
Related Link:
Hits: 1934
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by