Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Something Delicious: No Fun Intended

Four piece jazz core exponents Something Delicious formed back in 2006 and are comfortable in a freeform approach that sees them weave elements of jazz, metal, funk, folk, punk, hip-hop and more into their work. The deranged cover artwork gives a good indication of this bands eccentricity and they happily incorporate the use of trumpets, samples, funky bass lines against a backdrop of metallic riffing.

Experimental it may be and you cant help but be convinced that the band have their tongue firmly in their cheeks with song titles such as "Pirate Zombies" and "Soup Juice". There does, however, come a point when after a few listens you begin to feel like this is all an in-band joke that to an outsider is faintly amusing but a long way from being hilarious. And once the joke begins to wear thin there is little here to really recommend and it almost becomes a test of self-endurance to see how long before you reach for the off switch.

Track Listing
1. Gamblor
2. Faker
3. Soup Juice
4. Business Strategies Control
5. Our Biographies
6. Publicity Stunt
7. Pirate Zombies
8. Awkward Comfort
9. N.A.O.R.

Added: September 24th 2009
Reviewer: Dean Pedley
Related Link: Band MySpace
Hits: 1591
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Something Delicious: No Fun Intended
Posted by Jjam on 2010-01-07 15:36:41
My Score:


2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by