Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Secret Saucer: Second Sighting

Be prepared for a heady trip indeed into the realm of space rock. If you are into bands like Hawkwind, The Ozric Tentacles and to a lesser extent Pink Floyd, you would do well to hear Second Sighting, the new instrumental CD from Secret Saucer. The band formed when various musicians from groups such as Sun Machine, Star Nation, National Steam and Quarkspace got together, and in the spirit of space rock, jammed. The band line-up is Steve Taylor (guitar, bass, drums), Dan Schnell (acoustic and electric guitar), Paul Williams (synths, drums), Billy Spear (bass), Steve Hayes (synths, bass), Dave Hess (synths, glissandro guitar), Greg Kozlowski (guitar, bass), Jay Swanson (keyboards) and Thomas Marianetti (drums, synths). Although there are plenty of heavier moments to be found, the band also include softer interludes easing the intensity of the edgier tracks. The music takes the form of loosely based jams, amidst swirling synths, pulsating bass and atmospheric guitar meanderings. Some of these tunes have an almost hypnotic effect, and although a very long album at over 70 minutes, I never found myself bored in the slightest.

The album starts with the Eastern tinged space rock of "Lift Off" with its central theme of floating synths and otherworldly sounds. The eerie atmospherics of "D-Walker", complete with droning synths, is strangely melodic even though there is a discordant theme at work. The bass heavy "Tranquility Base" features shards of moody electric guitar and walls of synths. The repeated guitar melody line is addictive. The jazz meanderings of "Integrator" features jazzy piano amidst a backdrop of heavy synths. For pure spaced out fun check out the guitar acrobatics and synth noodling in "Venture 91-200". This one really packs a punch, and at over nine minutes in length, is long enough to explore different textures and sounds.

So for the final verdict, if you are a fan of psychedelic/space rock/Krautrock, and appreciate the loose song structures of jam-based compositions, you will probably want to hear Secret Saucer. Do yourself a favour and check them out.

Track Listing:
1. Lift Off
2. All The Way To Outer Space
3. D-Walker
4. Tranquility Base
5. Venture 91-200
6. Untitled Dream
7. Disintegrator
8. Integrator
9. Reflections
10. The Death Of Time
11. Night Time

Added: June 11th 2009
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2271
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by