Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ayat: Six Years of Dormant Hatred

Not that many extreme metal releases are coming from Lebanon. This is understandable since you can get executed down there for doing such blasphemous music. The nucleus of this band is made of: Mullah Sadogoat (bass, guitars) and Reverend Filthy Fuck (vocals). The studio line-up includes also a certain Dr. Cripples on drums and Aisha Suicide, a female vocalist.

The fact is that it takes guts to be blasphemous when you are Muslims or living in a Muslim country, really. Ayat even goes a far as having a pig on the cover art. You can also hear some pigs on the opening track, called "Ilhiya Khinzir ! (All Hail Allah the Swine)". Well, Six Years of Dormant Hatred was born out of violence, and stays quite powerfully violent in most of its parts. One could witness on this disc, a powerful blasting section of distorted guitar work, strong bass and muscular drumming. This is the basic canvas on which the vocalist is mostly screaming a torturous type of rasp. Not a pretty, and even less melodic, album as such. On the other hand, it does have its moments, especially in those moderate parts where nice power chords or distorted arpeggios are bringing the harmonies up a little bit. You'll hear samplings regularly, mainly spoken words, but other are war related, besides the pig on track one. Violent /brutal extreme music has never really worked for me, and this album has a lot of it to offer.

I found a couple tracks interesting on this disc: "Fornication and Murder" (a more elaborate and varied composition), and "Such a Beautiful Day! (The exaltation of Saint Francis)".

Track Listing:
1- Ilahiya Khinzir! ( All hail Allah the Swine)
2 - Fornication and Murder
3 - The Fine Art of Arrogance part one (The Icon and the Cattle)
4 - Collective Suicide in the Boudoir (Feeling Wonderful Tonight)
5 - Puking Under Radiant Moonlight (Followed by a Century Long Ejaculation)
6 - Misogyny when we Embrace
7 - Necronarcos (Tame Your Death)
8 - Curses!Curses! And Never Sleep...
9 - Thousands of Pissed Motherfuckers...
10 - Such a Beautiful Day! ( The Exaltation of Saint Francis)

Added: March 6th 2009
Reviewer: Denis Brunelle
Related Link: More information
Hits: 2050
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by