Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Karma To Burn: Karma To Burn

Metal Minds has done it again! With the re-release of the debut album by legendary stoners Karma To Burn, Metal Minds gives all who hurry a chance to pick up a cool slice of metal that was all but forgotten. This limited edition of 2000 copies is sure to be one that you will want to add to your collection.

These guys, who are known for their extreme instrumental abilities, under pressure from the record company, were forced to add a vocalist for their first album. Jay Jarosz was recruited and does a very good job given the circumstances. His mostly deadpan delivery is spot on for the psychedelic romp.

William Mecum on guitar provides the map for the musical direction this band is going. In their bio it says that they started as teenagers. Buying instruments and building a still in their West Virginia home, listening to Mecum, you can believe that this could actually be the truth. With a distortion filled heaviness that will scramble the grey matter, you can easily see where this album could have been produced under the influence of some sort of mind altering substance.

But some of these chemically induced works are as addictive as what created them! Songs like the chant like "Patty Hearst's Closet Mantra", the blazing "Six Fun Sucker Punch" and the ZZ Top like "Twin Sisters And A Half Bottle Of Bourbon" make this album a worthwhile trip down stoner lane.

The instrumental works "Eight" and "Thirteen" give you a real indication of the massive ability that this band had and a taste of what they would deliver in the future.

The one spot that may make you cringe on this disc is the album closer "Six". The stoner rock is in full force for about the first three minutes before about eight minutes of silence followed by an ending that is a CB conversation. Not much to say about this one other than this album could have been one song shorter without any loss of quality!

The instrumental bonus tracks are five bootleg live recordings. Here they are in all their raging metal glory. These are easily the best part of the whole disc. While most of this one is an enjoyable trip down loss of memory lane, there is a couple of pot holes that will make you glad you can by pass them easily. Still all in all this is a decent bit of grungy metal.

Track listing:

1. Ma Petie Mort
2. Bobbi, Bobbi, Bobbi I'm Not God
3. Patty Hearst's Closet Mantra
4. Mt. Penetrator
5. Eight
6. Appalachian Woman
7. Twenty Four Hours
8. Six-Gun Sucker Punch
9. Thirteen
10. (Waltz Of The) Playboy Pallbearers
11. Twin Sisters And Half A Bottle Of Bourbon
12. Six

Bonus Tracks

13. Twenty Eight
14. Thirty Four
15. Nine
16. Twenty
17. Six

Added: February 8th 2009
Reviewer: Scott Ward
Related Link: Band's Myspace Page
Hits: 2585
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by