Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Suidakra: 13 Years of Celtic Wartunes

Celtic/Pagan heavy metal band Suidakra have existed for over thirteen years and released eight albums. 13 Years of Celtic Wartunes is a CD/DVD combo, the CD features their best tracks, 17 in all, and the DVD is of their Wacken Open Air Festival performance from 2007, plus an acoustic concert and bonus features with videos and interviews.

The first eight live tracks on the DVD shows an energetic Suidakra at Wacken putting in a great energetic live performance in front of a large audience, not relying on an elaborate stage show, just their material and prescence.This isn't one of those overproduced live performances we seem to get sold leaving you to wonder how much is actually live. "Darkane Times" is a great choice for opener, Instrumental "Dead Mans Reel" is another of many highlights complete with a kilt sporting bagpipe player who also appears elsewhere. The next eleven tracks are live acoustic numbers, another solid effort but I prefer the first performance.

To the 'best of' CD which gives the listener a chance to hear how the band has grown. All tracks have been remastered plus the first four tracks have been re-recorded for this release, and overall the CD offers a nice balance of their songs. Giving all the material on 13 Years of Celtic Wartunes it's a must have for fans or a very good introduction to Suidakra and their career thus far.

Track Listing
1. Darkane Times
2. Gates Of Nevermore
3. Forth-Clyde
4. Pandragon s Fall
5. The One Piece Puzzle
6. Dead Man s Reel
7. The IXth Legion
8. Wartunes
Acoustic session
9. The One Piece Puzzle
10. When Eternity Echoes
11. Rise Of Taliesin
12. Whiskey In The Jar
13. Medley: Dinas Emrys -Peregrin - Serenade To A Dream - Fall Of Tara
14. Wish You Were Here
15. The Ember Deid - Part II
16. A Vision s Demise
17. A Runic Rhyme
18. An Dùdlachd
19. Johnny B.
Bonus Material
20. Interviews at Wacken with fans and friends
21. The IXth Legion (videoclip)
22. Forth-Clyde (videoclip)

1. Heresy
2. Sheltering Dreams
3. A Menhirs Clay
4. An Dùdlachd
5. Morrigan
6. Lays From Afar
7. The Arcane Spell
8. Wartunes
9. Rise of Taliesin
10. Intro
11. Darkane Times
12. Still The Pipes Are Calling
13. Signs For The Fallen
14. A Vision s Demise
15. Reap The Storm
16. Dead Man s Reel
17. Highland Hills

Added: October 3rd 2008
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 3178
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by