Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Macabre : Sinister Slaughter / Behind The Wall Of Sleep (remaster)

Depending on your point of view this remastered album Sinister Slaughter (originally issued in 1993 on Nuclear Blast) from Macabre, a band that many regard as one of the pioneers of death metal (they formed back in 1984), is either good, clean, sick fun or done in bad taste. My feeling is that it perhaps lies somewhere in between, however make no mistake this is one of the finest examples of early extreme metal. I mean c'mon, where else are you going to find a whole collection of songs devoted to some of the world's most notorious serial killers, not to mention the hilarious mock Sgt. Pepper album cover design.

As crazy and even sometimes as ridiculous as some of the lyrics are on Sinister Slaughter, the fact is that this trio from Chicago consisting of Nefarious (bass, vocals), Dennis The Menace (drums) and Corporate Death (guitar, vocals) are actually quite accomplished musicians. Only two songs clock in over three minutes as the bands attack is a potent combination of fast, skull crushing riffs with an almost thrash style approach from the rhythm section. The vocals often utilize a dual technique of high pitched screams and guttural Cannibal Corpse style growls which is also very effective and intriguing to listen to. Whether you're reveling in the devastating power of "Zodiac", "Killing Spree (Postal Killer) or laughing you ass off while singing along with the catchy chorus of 'I'm going to strangle you and slit your throat too, I'm going to kill you just because I want to' on "Vampire Of Düsseldorf", there's no questioning that this is one hell of kick ass album and certainly one of the finest examples of brutal, extreme / death metal from start to finish.

Kudos goes to the folks over at Metal Mind for bringing back the true American Psycho's of metal with this great limited edition remaster that not only comes housed in a splendid digipak with detailed artwork and liner notes, but it also includes the original Behind The Wall Of Sleep EP from 1994 tacked on at the end as well.

Track Listing
1) Night Stalker – Richard Ramirez
2) The Ted Bundy Song – Ted Bundy
3) Sniper In The Sky – Charles Whitman
4) Montreal Massacre – Marc Lepine
5) Zodiac – Identity Unknown
6) What The Hell Did You Do? – James Edward Plough
7) The Boston Strangler – Albert De Salvo
8) Mary Bell (With Reprise 9.) – Mary Bell
10) Killing Spree (Postal Killer) - Patrick Sherrill
11) Is It Soup Yet? – Daniel Rakowitz
12) White Hen Decapitator – Michael Bethke
13) Howard Unrah (What Have you Done Know?) – Howard Unrah
14) Gacy's Lot – John Wayne Gacy
15) There Was A Young Man Who Blew Up A Plane – Jack Gilbert Graham
16) Vampire Of Düsseldorf – Peter Kurtin
17) Shotgun Peterson – Christopher Peterson
18) What's That Smell? – Jeffrey Dahmer
19) Edmond Kemper Had A Horrible Temper – Edmond Kemper
20) What The Heck, Richard Speck ( 8 Nurses You Wrecked) – Richard Speck
21) Albert Was Worse Than Any Fish In The Sea – Albert Fish
22) Fishtales (Bonus)
23) Behind The Wall Of Sleep (Bonus)
24) Slaughter Thy Poser (Bonus)
25) Freeze Dried Man (Bonus)

Added: July 29th 2008
Reviewer: Ryan Sparks
Related Link: Metal Mind Productions
Hits: 4130
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by