Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hate Eternal: Fury and Flames

Think Hate Eternal sound a tad pissed off here on their latest release Fury and Flames? As told by mainman Erik Rutan, Fury and Flames was an extremely difficult album to put together and record, as former bass player and close friend Jared Anderson passed away in late 2006 while in talks to rejoin the band, putting a very bleak cloud over the creation of this album. Rutan however, took the pain and hurt and channelled it into this one, adding new drummer Jade Simonetto, second guitarist Shaune Kelly, and bringing in friend and current Cannibal Corpse/Blotted Science virtuoso Alex Webster to record the bass parts for the album. The end result here on Fury and Flames is a brutally heavy and extreme death metal album, easily the most crushing release of Hate Eternal's career.

Really, this sucker just pummels you from beginning to end, with Rutan's menacing growls leading the charge on "Para Bellum" and "Hell Envenom" over massive death metal riffage from he and new guy Kelly, the wild & nimble bass lines from Webster, and the relentless drum barrage from Simonetto. The band has also seemed to find somewhat of a groove here, as evident on "Bringer of Storms", a real brutal stomp that mixes in mid-paced crunch amongst the blistering frenzy, and there's a real epic flavor to "Thus Salvation", an absolutely monstrous number that shows the true ferocity of this band. If you love wild and evil death metal, look no further than "Proclamation Of The Damned", a real speedy and technical burner complete with Simonetto's rampaging blast beats and walls of riffage from Rutan and Kelley.

Fury and Flames is easily one of the most devastating and extreme albums released here in the early part of 2008. Hate Eternal are back with a vengeance and ready to take on the world with this smoldering platter of dark and furious death metal menace. Add in the haunting artwork from acclaimed artist Paul Romano and you have a real extreme metal treat here.

Track Listing
1. Hell Envenom
2. Whom Gods May Destroy
3. Para Bellum
4. Bringer Of Storms
5. The Funerary March
6. Thus Salvation
7. Proclamation Of The Damned
8. Fury Within
9. Tombeau (Le Tombeau De La Fureur Et Des Flammes)
10. Coronach

Added: February 16th 2008
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Hate Eternal My Space Page
Hits: 3505
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Hate Eternal: Fury and Flames
Posted by Merely A Mirage on 2008-02-24 07:27:01
My Score:

With out a doubt a Death Metal Masterpiece - 10 thumbs way up on this one

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by