Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

SeepeopleS: Apocalypse Cow Vol. 1

North Carolina's SeepeopleS hit paydirt here on their third release Apocalypse Cow Vol. 1, a very enjoyable collection of modern psychedelic rock, pop, funk, folk, and jam band styles. Led by guitarist/vocalist/keyboard player Will Bradford, SeepeopleS take roots rock to a new level here, combining shimmering pop melodies with tasty playing for an album that can be appreciated no matter what your musical tastes are.

Tracks like "Last Same Man" and "Don't Be Long" combine elements of folk, lush pop, and even some Marillion-like modern prog rock, and the results are very melodic and engaging. Hints of The Beatles can be heard on "The Sun is With You", a lovely little acoustic ballad, while "My Friends" goes the other end of the spectrum with ragged guitar riffs and Bradford's emotional vocals. "Once A Dream" is sure to please any fan of Eric Carmen, and features some nice piano melodies from Peter Keys, and the band cranks out some almost Rush-meets-Kings X-meets-The Who heavy rock on "Holding". Fans of more experimental bands like Muse or Mars Volta might like "Battle Cry", a song littered with lots of keyboard and guitar effects, plus layers of vocals and electronic drum patterns courtesy of Tim Haney. The inclusion of violin and cello on "Say Goodbye", coupled with plenty of soaring vocal harmonies, brings to mind late 70's Electric Light Orchestra, mixed perhaps with a little Porcupine Tree.

If anything, Apocalypse Cow Vol. 1 might just contain a bit too much material, but it's quality nontheless. With plenty of catchy hooks and memorable melodies, in addition to solid instrumentation, this latest release from SeepeopleS might be one of the strongest psychedelic/progressive tinged pop releases this year. Add in the roots/folk element and you have a pretty damn unique platter here.

Track Listing

  1. Don't Panic
  2. Apocalypse Cow
  3. Last Sane Man
  4. Don't Be So Long
  5. The Sun Is With You
  6. My Friends
  7. Stranded on the Sidewalk
  8. Once A Dream
  9. Interlude 1
  10. Holding
  11. Battle Cry
  12. Interlude 2
  13. Already Laughing
  14. Angels In Line
  15. Someday Robots
  16. Last Breath
  17. Say Goodbye

Added: April 5th 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: SeepeopleS Website
Hits: 2504
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by