Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Aborted: Slaughtered & Apparatus-A Methodical Overture

Belgium's Aborted have followed up their 2005 release The Archaic Abattoir with Slaughtered & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture, a truly brutal yet melodic platter of technical death metal and gore-grind. Take one look at the song titles for an idea of what to expect lyrically from these metal maniacs, but the interesting thing is the band has injected even more technicality and more melodic vocal passages than in the past. In addition to the multitude of deathly grunts and growls, there are more than a fair share of clean vocals and raging metalcore type screams. Tunes like "Avenious" and "The Chondrin Enigma" bristle with death metal and grind fury, but also contain some crushingly heavy riffs and serious breakdowns, not to mention wild vocal battles between the grunts and the clean shouts. In fact, Aborted lead vocalist Sven De Caluwe is joined here by former Carcass frontman Jeff Walker and Hatesphere shouter Jacob Bredahl, giving the album a very rich sound from a vocal perspective. Don't let all this fool you though, despite the varying vocal attack on the album, this is still prime and vicious Aborted, with manic blast beats from David Haley, rampaging guitar riffs from Matty Dupont and Sebastien Tuvi, and rumbling bass grooves from Peter Goemaere. Fans of shredding guitar solos will love the many lead breaks on the album, especially on pieces like "The Spaying Sťance", "The Foul Nucleus of Resurrection", and the complex fills, riffs, and leads on the killer "Archetype".

Slaughtered & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture is one hell of a heavy, groovy, and complex release, and the addition of clean vocals and metalcore shouts amidst the brutal growls and grunts gives most of the songs here an element that should help the album appeal to more than just the gore-grind crowd. This of a chance meeting between Aborted and In Flames or Carcass, and you have an idea of just the results are. Aborted have come up with one of the early extreme metal hits here in the early part of 2007.

Track Listing
1) The Chondrin Enigma
2) A Methodical Overture
3) Avenious
4) The Spaying Sťance
5) And Carnage Basked in its Ebullience
6) The Foul Nucleus of Resurrection
7) Archetype
8) Ingenuity in Genocide
9) Odious Emanation
10) Prolific Murder Contrivance
11) Underneath Rorulent Soil

Added: January 22nd 2007
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Aborted Website
Hits: 2180
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by