Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shining Star: Enter Eternity

The second album from Brazilian based power/prog-metal band Shining Star sees the addition of busy singer Lance King on lead vocals. His joining forces with the band takes a formidable line-up and makes it that much better, propeling Enter Eternity to lofty heights with some seriously well written and expertly performed songs. King shares the spotlight in Shining Star with guitar virtuoso Fabio Rocha , who provides plenty of crunch and delicate class on electric and acoustic guitars, literally shredding in the fine tradition of players like Yngwie Malmsteen, Michael Romeo, Vinnie Moore, Tony MacAlpine, and John Norum. His tasty, classically oriented lead passages mix with an assortment of heavy and complex riffs, igniting some fierce interplay with keyboardist Dinno Zampier on "From Now On". On "Dangerous Game", singer King delivers some soaring & melodic vocals, giving this catchy piece an almost TNT-meets-Symphony X feel, made all the more impressive when Rocha rockets through the mix with a blistering wah-wah laced guitar solo. Other highlights include the sweeping hooks of "Insomnia", the Savatage influenced "Just A Man", and the symphonic metal stomp of "No More", complete with plenty of stunning leads from Rocha. Fans of epic sounding progressive metal will revel in the heavy riffs, orchestral keyboards, intricate rhythms, and emotional vocals of "Travel Through Time", a tune that packs a punch with plenty of groove and metal attitude.

Enter Eternity is an album that will not take long to get into if you like catchy progressive/power metal with loads of hooks and bombastic instrumental arrangements. I was pulled in instantly with the opening notes of "Nightmare" and never looked back from there. Lance King has gotten his hands into a lot of different projects lately, and each one so far seems to be a winner-add Shining Star's Enter Eternity to that list as well.

Track Listing
1) Nightmare
2) Insanity
3) From Now On
4) Dangerous Game
5) Insomnia
6) Never Too Late
7) Just a Man
8) No More
9) Lady of the Night
10) Travel Through Time

Added: March 27th 2006
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: More Info
Hits: 2472
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by